Monologue: I am a villain, I have a story too

Yash Daiv
3 min readOct 23, 2017

--

For the love of theatrics (credit: Manoj Shinde)

I am a villain. I revel in theatrics before anything — I like hiding behind a fan of cards, emerge out of red mists, glare from embers, shoot the bullets and run in between them without fear, paint my face with someone else’s blood, laugh till my ribcage hurts, and unleash chaos. It is often thought that these dramatic revelries have no purpose. The truth is, this madness erupts out of a broken rationale, which in its entirety is worse than having no rationale at all.

This broken rationale looks like a half erased geometrical lines, followed by a beating for a wrong diagram. A symmetrical effort is broken due to excessive reprimanding. A low feeling persist and it snowballs in a fiery ball of anger.

A young villain is born in this moment and becomes angrier over age. A broken morale amplifies pessimism and then the reactions is laced with wrath that gets misunderstood. This confusion reaches a peak when friends and family choose to desert you. What is worse? They start whispering malicious things and polish the villains within. They call us a negative force without realizing that the villain was born out of a collective social pessimism. Here, the reader, listener and the viewer needs to understand that we have stories too, of broken families, dead lovers, abuse, and misunderstanding that back up our wrath. A villain is a kind of a human being whose self-wallowing behaviour is also his/her own doing.

Then, the villain makes mistakes which prompts the closest ones to leave. I, the villain, understand it is not their fault. Everything is not about me, the villain.

The cause then loses purpose and chaos courses within veins. Coloured in anger, heightened image of self and stripped of purpose, there is destruction to the extent where I, the villain, is not able to feel the ache in my chest. Why you ask? Because nobody saw the ache behind the unruly laugh.

But a modern villain does not do this. He or she indulges in self harm, overstepping sentiments, thinking about death and whine. These villains need to be polished and learn that in these moments of anger, they need to stand up for themselves and take charge.

Anyways, I am a villain today and there isn’t denying. My life isn’t very bad although the grapevine still hurts me and I long for acceptance. But, I look at my varied depiction in comics, movies and other media. I try to see how well they have been conceived. Some do a good job and some don’t. In all this, somewhere, I am convinced of my being.

All this said, villainy has its own power. Removed from a reality without a purpose to defeat it (read: lonely), the creative prowess mutates into tones unseen. It is the true tapping of potential and there is nothing like being into your own fold all along trying to expand boundaries you haven’t seen.

Get to know me once more with your baggage, you may be surprised and I might surprise myself.

--

--