Charlie Chaplin & Oona O’Neill

Yasin sukhera
2 min readJun 22, 2024

Marry me so that I teach you to live, and you teach me to die.

Photo of Charlie Chaplin and Ona O’Neill taken in 1943.

Charlie Chaplin found his true love (Ona O’Neill) at the age of 53. He was 17 years old at that time.

Her parents refused to marry her until she was 18. They got married on her next birthday and they lived together for 34 years.

From 1943 to 1977 When Charlie decided to marry Ona, who was 35 years his junior, he told her “Marry me and I will teach you how to live and you will teach me how to die.”

She replied., “No, I’m marrying you because you teach me how to be mature and I’ll teach you how to stay young forever.”

They had a very loving relationship until Charlie’s death, when Charlie was 88 years old.

“You need Power,
only when you want
to do something harmful
otherwise
Love is enough to get everything done.”

“A tramp, a gentleman, a poet, a dreamer, a lonely fellow, always hopeful of romance and adventure”.

“Life can be wonderful if you’re not afraid of it. All it needs is courage, imagination … and a little dough”.

“Let us strive for the impossible. The great achievements throughout history have been the conquest of what seemed the impossible”.

--

--

Yasin sukhera

MBA/MS (Finance) Lahore Pakistan. Researcher, Financial Analyst, Social Media Activist, You only lose when u give up. yasinsukhera@gmail.com +923344800005