Methods and evidence for efficient learning of kanji using auditory memory.

Nihongo_teacher
4 min readSep 12, 2023

In this blog I will introduce a method of memorising kanji in which the kanji is divided into parts and written each part while saying the names of the parts.

This method has been introduced for children with dyslexia in Japan.

As a speech and language therapist, I have worked with children with dyslexia and learning difficulties in the therapy setting.

And today, the number of children with foreign roots is increasing in Japan. Some of them face difficulties in learning kanji and acquiring vocabulary, making it difficult for them to keep up with their schoolwork.

I am currently working to support the learning of such children with foreign roots.

In this experience, I have found that the method of learning kanji using auditory memory is very effective for children whose first language is not Japanese.

Although this method is very effective, it is still not very widespread in the field of Japanese language learning.

For this reason, I have decided to introduce this method of learning kanji through my blog.

No matter how effective I insist the method is, some people may be concerned that there is no evidence to support it.

For this reason, I will present the papers that provide the evidence.

--

--

Nihongo_teacher

Japanese teacher | Speech-Language Pathologist in Japan | Tips for learning Japanese