Structured Ideation

Bryan Yau
4 min readNov 16, 2018

--

SCAMPER

S: Substitute

7 Concepts:

Can I replace or change any parts?

  • Change the material from rubber to silver.

Can I replace someone involved?

  • NecklS can also apply for old people and children as well.

Can I change its shape?

  • Square shape
  • Triangle shape
  • Circle shape

Can I change its color. roughness, sound or smell?

  • The smell of perfume for Women’s product?

Can I substitute one part for another?

  • Different kind of charms.

Final Pick:

Can I substitute one part for another?

As I creating Women safety product, it is always a right thing to create different layouts for them to pick what suit to their style. Owing to me doing a necklace with spy camera in it(NecklS), I would like to create different kind of charms to let women choose their favorite charm.

C: Combine

7 Concepts:

What ideas or parts can be combined?

  • GPS Tracker
  • Emergency button
  • Spy Camera
  • Bendable switch
  • Clouds Connector
  • Voice Recorder

What materials could be combined?

  • Silver
  • Rubber

Final Pick:

What Ideas or parts can be combined?

For the Security Necklace, I combined Spy Camera, GPS, Emergency Button. Rubber, Bendable switch, Clouds Connector, Voice Recorder.

A: Adapt

7 Concepts:

Is there something similar, but in a different context?

  • GoPro
  • Miniature Spy Camera Necklace
  • Mini Gadgets Voice Recorder
  • Sennheiser MZM10/2 Mic holder
  • Apple Watch
  • Body Camera

Final Pick:

Is there something similar, but in a different context?

M: Magnify/ Minify

7 Concepts:

Can it be used more often?

  • mini solar panel on the necklace and provide unlimited batter

What can be magnified or made larger?

  • make the charm larger?

What can be made higher, bigger or stronger?

  • Bigger layouts?
  • Thicker necklace?
  • Stronger materials?

Can it do more things?

  • Waterproof
  • Fireproof

Final Pick:

Can it do more things?

NecklS is not just a necklace. It has multiple features in it. However, I want to add one more feature to let NecklS survive in any situation. I want to let NecklS become waterproof.

P: Put to other use

7 Concepts:

What else can it be used for?

  • Transform to bracelet

Can it be used by people than those it was originally intended for?

  • Apply to pets as well?

How could a child use it or an old person?

  • Smaller version for children?
  • Darker color for old people?

What else can it be made from?

  • Copper
  • Iron
  • Plastic

Final Pick:

What else can it be used for?

NecklS can also turn into a bracelet. Just take out the charm and remove half of the necklace. Then you will have a simple cool looking brace let.

E: Eliminate

7 Concepts:

How can I simplify it?

What parts can it be removed without alerting its function?

Can the rule be eliminated?

What if I made it smaller?

What feature can I understate or omit?

What if it had less of something?

Should I split it into different parts?

Final Pick:

How can I simplify it?

The emergency button placed on the charm can be easily pressed from accident, therefore, I planned to remove it and let the bendable switch be the emergency button.

7 Concepts:

What other arrangement might be better? (layout?)

  • Have different colors or pattern on the necklace?
  • Different shapes?

What if I consider backward or inside out?

  • Maybe not necklace, It can be applied on bracelet or hat.

Can I transpose positives and negatives?

Negatives:

  • Make it simple to use?
  • A tutorial video to teach users to understand the product
  • How can I make more invisible for people to aware of the spy camera inside the necklace?

Can I transpose cause and effect?

  • Emergency switch can also call out your friends instead of only calling for cops.

Final Pick:

Can I transpose positives and negatives?

Negatives:

  • A tutorial video to teach users to understand the product

Morphological Analysis

During the process, I have found many products that are very similar. And I picked some products that I personally think can combine into my Concept. However, I found it difficult to search product about Bendable Switch, in result, I ended up finding similar things which does the effect. (Bendable Clip).

Final Product

Presentation Material

Timeline

11/14–11/16: SCAMPER questions.

11/17–11/22: SCAMPER.

11/23: Morphological Analysis

11/24–11/25: Work on blog

11/27: Blog Due

11/30: Peer review

--

--