How to Learn Anything

Set a target, learn just enough to hit it, teach someone, repeat.

--

JavaScript’s my craft.

Despite my young career, no other skill rivals the hours I’ve put into this language and its ecosystem.

One question continues to pop up, however. A question that can hinder anyone’s personal development…

How Do I Learn X?

I thought this question only haunted me, but experience proved otherwise. This question agitates anyone learning new stuff. I’ve met smart cookies who ask,

  • “What should I learn?”
  • “How can I learn it?”

Apply those two questions to any skill — programming, basketball, cooking, dancing, archery, Chinese, Chess, Checkers. Your end result is a confused newbie who’ll start, but never finish.

Until recently I’d reply “Uhh, idk lolbro…just dew it.” But my perspective shifted after some reflecting and research.

We’re not lost because we’re dumb, nor do we procrastinate because we’re lazy.

We’re Overwhelmed

By asking “How do I learn X?”, you’ve just volunteered to drown in a sea of knowledge dug by countless people over many years.

--

--