Sumo Paint

Jessie Jay
4 min readApr 13, 2020

--

Sumo Paint is a site that acts as an image editor similar to Adobe photo shop with some similar features to any paint app or other website. When first creating an account for Sumo Paint, I entered thinking it would be a fun new way to be able to do some digital art without any problems. Upon booting up the site, it showed to have many different options and features that one could use to create a masterpiece. Or well, whatever bit of artwork someone has at whatever art skill level they are. Upon further inspection, this website left me a bit disappointed that it did not meet the expectations I had unless I paid for the upgrade.

STRENGTHS

Despite my disappointment, Sumo Paint does have some nice features that overall can help the painter/editor improve. Without having to pay for the upgrade, the site has a share tab where you can share the work you’ve created and have others be able to comment on it, offering any tips on how to improve their future art.

In Sumo Paint you have a variety of brushes you can use that range from regular to different sizes with different effects such as spray paint and even brushes of different shapes such as a moon, yin-yang, and a clover to name a few. Aside from this, you can save images to your computer and later open them back up to continue working on them from where you left off. There were a few issues while trying to upload or import an image from my laptop, but that could have been due to the internet connection I had, which if I didn’t have bad internet, there is little to no problem.

WEAKNESSES

With the artwork shared on Sumo Paint, I know the site has the capability of providing enough resources to create amazing things. My only problem is I’m unaware if these artworks shared are due to getting the upgrade or not. And upon further inspection of the site, and clicking around to see what features I could use without paying, I saw I was very limited to the amount of features I could use. Most of the sub tabs the site has, have many possible features, but you are only able to use one out of the many they provide. Such as the amount of filters you can use.

You have a variety of features but only limited to the Pixelate filter that only has a total of five you can use. I could also lastly, not be able to adapt the screen to touch screen which would make the process of drawing in the site to be a lot easier. Drawing with a mouse is difficult to do, and unless I just could not figure out how to get that to work, the site is not touch screen adaptable.

USER FRIENDLY

When creating an account, when compared to other sites, it is simple without having to confirm anything like an email, or having to send a code to verify it. It just sends an email with both the website and your profile link, nothing more nothing less. Which personally, is more user friendly as it isn’t as much of a hassle when trying to set up. When first trying to use the app, I found the screen proportions to be off and unfitting to the screen of my laptop, but with further messing around found you can put the site into full screen to have easier and better access to the sub tabs to the features and layers the site offers. The one downside is as mentioned before, it isn’t touch screen adaptable so it could cause some problems with users adapting to drawing with a mouse, the photo shop part might be easier, but for users who want to draw with the paint style, it will come as difficult to use.

Overall, I believe the Sumo Paint site is more adjustable for users who want to do photo shop or who are more comfortable using the mouse when painting or drawing digitally. The site does not have all the features it first seems to have, without getting the upgrade, but it is decent in that it does a good job at being able to implement images, edit them, or just work from scratch. If you are a user wanting to draw with this site, it will take time to get used to it but I believe it is doable. Definitely not for the complete beginners or users who aren’t used to drawing with a mouse.

--

--