No. This email did not find me well.

5 ways you can do better on your “statements of solidarity”

Yesenia Garcia
15 min readJun 3, 2020

Disclaimers: Please note these are not ONLY my own thoughts, but the thoughts of colleagues I am protecting. I might have the emotional capacity to put it all together… but this is also an attempt to honor their pain throughout. I am a LatinX woman engaging in very difficult anti-racism work and I have my biases and areas for development. I am writing this at a risk to my own career and safety (because this will inevitably put a target on my back… oh well)

We are going to examine a plethora of crisis communication that went out over this past weekend and early this week. An overwhelming majority of these statements are written by either white or white passing administrators with significant power at the university level. We are going to cringe at most of them, we may nod at others. As a person I am solution oriented, so I gathered insight and made suggestions to minimize harm in the future.

Thank you to those that allowed me to run this past them for editing or laughs. Any photos, memes, reactions have been cropped to protect their authors from potential retaliation. #BlackLivesMatter

Edit: Wow! This blew up! Thank you — for those asking for payment information, please donate to Black Lives Matter Chicago or My Block My Hood My City!

To the IVORY TOWER of higher education:

The one I feel out of place to enter. The one I feel unwelcome to. The one I don’t have access to… the one that confuses me for the other Mexican woman in my department… I wrote this — this way — on purpose. I have made myself smaller and more palatable in meetings and in spaces. I am very capable of writing a thought piece in your beloved APA and wait for a publication to reject me multiple times before getting your attention. I can formulate my thoughts in a way that I’ve been hazed in valuing more than my own consciousness. But for the purposes of this … You can adjust to me. Because this is ONLY going to become more uncomfortable.

1. SUBJECT LINES

We already know what you’re emailing about, say it.

The past 5 weeks I’ve had clear communication with COVID-19 from LITERALLY EVERY COMPANY I’ve ever clicked on a link for. When DACA was revoked there were CLEAR subject lines that let me know what to mentally prepare myself for when I opened my email. Here are some subject lines that made sense and did not hide behind coded language:

The University of Illinois system’s statement: Reflection on George Floyd Tragedy
NASPA — National :
Statement About Racial Violence
Northwestern:
Support and Care in Times of Racial Injustice
Western Illinois University: WIU:
Taking a Stand
Hampshire College:
Resisting Racism and White Supremacy
Call State Fullerton:
An Open Letter to Our Legacy Leaders in White America
Adler University: Systematic Racism and Police Violence

But somehow.. when the issue is racism — the message can become coded. Interesting.

Loyola University Chicago’s subject line: From Grief to Action — is damaging. It perpetuates a sense of urgency (a pillar of white supremacy) and also insinuates you can’t be both grieving and taking action.

I was grieving and acting when I attended the protests in Chicago, so was one of my dearest friends whom has been grieving and acting upon the loss of countless people that look like her at the hands of systemic racism and police brutality.

(that was a very poorly constructed sentence… don’t care)

We. Have. Been. Acting. YOUR PRIVILEGE IS SHOWING.

University of Chicago’s subject line: Our community and events in Minneapolis and Chicago is harmful because it centers the University community and presents events in Minneapolis like… “over there problems”.

Also not very great considering the University’s long issue with “othering” and gentrification of Hyde Park — a predominately black neighborhood.

2. Just Say It… BLACK.

Just like we do on our college recruitment brochures!

Institutions of higher education section of students in an effort to recruit “a diverse school of thought” and a “population reflective of society”. You track them, you make plans to retain them (or say you do), some universities have affinity spaces for them. The email you are sending should say black; some folks prefer African American — sure. SAY IT.

Do not say people of color and lump this together. I know ya’ll love one size fits all terms… but by lumping this together you are ERASING black people.

I will say this in the most LatinX way possible. I was not marching this weekend because I saw someone that looked like me getting murdered (#GeorgeFloyd). I was not marching this weekend because someone that looked like me had the audacity to be asleep in a bed (#BreonnaTaylor) I was not marching because someone that looked like me went for a jog! (#AmaudArbery). I was not marching because someone that looked like me and was trans* was left out of the narrative (#Tony McDade) — it was for black folks that constantly see themselves killed on social media more than they see themselves in higher ed positions…

Also… don’t also lump in other communities of color and their struggles as a footnote or an aside. It is harmful for my APIDA brothers and sisters to once again seem like an afterthought due to the model minority complex. I’d argue they deserve their own separate acknowledgement. I want them to take up space JUST LIKE THEY DESERVE TO.

When in doubt… say their NAMES. (That’s literally a hashtag for a reason…). If you struggle with this… we (the lowly underlings) may perceive you as:

  1. not being to recognize their humanity in the first place
  2. afraid to alienate “powerful” alumni with oodles of cash that ALSO don’t see the humanity in black people

Western Illinois University said their names:

University of Alabama at Birmingham said their names:

3. CLAIM IT… WHO YOU ARE AND YOUR KNOWLEDGE

This is now a requirement.. can I proclaim this?

We all know that there is a lack of diversity at the executive levels of virtually every institution. We don’t see ourselves there often and when we do… we know they have IMPOSSIBLE jobs. But cultural humility and acknowledgement of privilege is now a requirement. The bar has been set too low for too long and we’ve had it.

Here are some people who just put it on the table:

Vice President of Student Affairs Northwestern University:

President of Tufts:

President of Adler University:

President of NASPA:

The Chairmen and CEO of Grainger (an industrial supply company) even opted to amplify the stories and voices of those that this is about:

Interesting that corporate America … is… comfortable enough to take a stance.

Granted there’s no guarantee these institutions or organizations are perfectly addressing racial injustice… but by addressing and calling out power, privilege, and oppression we have established we are participating in the same conversation.

The University of Akron’s statement — was an email filed away. Cause of death: Buzzwords, talking around the issue, “we need to do better”, “our very democratic society depends on it”, our university was founded today over 150 years ago”. Most importantly… THEY TURNED THEIR HEAD AWAY FROM IDENTITY. THEY DIDN’T SAY BLACK! THEY DIDN’T acknowledge privilege. Why was this email sent? I’m confused.

The University of Nevada, Las Vegas … I filed my own Alma mater’s statement away. Cause of death: Buzzwords and the phrase “Universities have a responsibility to be beacons in the journey out of this unacceptable state of affairs. Let us double down on our efforts. We need to do this for each other. We need to do this for ourselves.”

This seems rushed for an institution that prides itself on consistently being ranked one of the MOST diverse institutions in the nation. When minority serving institutions don’t provide concrete actions, resources (keep scrolling for that fun section), it paints racism as an abstract problem to only pontificate about.

A fellow alumna forwarded this and wrote

“Phrases like this don’t inspire anyone to take responsibility. “boys will be boys!” *throws up hands*.

I want to proudly post my Alma mater tackling a pervasive and systemic issue. I can’t yet.

3. Political commentator and rapper: Belcalis Marlenis Almanzar Once Asked… “WHAT WAS THE REASON?!”

TAKE A STANCE OR GET OUT OF MY INBOX

Quick pause: I’m specifically examining emails — because the world has access to these statements online. What is even more dangerous.. are those text messages some folks have fired off. A dear friend who identifies as a black woman wrote: “the text messages are the ones that really take the cake, the invasion of solitude and pressure put upon black people to respond is alarming” and really I’d gather it’s because some writers are “checking in” on blackness when their subordinates or colleagues have never heard from them (AGAIN NOT ALL OF YOU)

Me asking for those WOULD be harmful. All I ask is if you’re firing those text messages off..is the reason because you’ve been identified as an ally to this person… or is it because you’re uncomfortable? Set a timer for 8 minutes and 46 seconds before you come to a decision.

BACK TO EMAILS!

If there were brands that took a stance… why aren’t you? Social justice, diversity, inclusion, equity isn’t something Netflix, YouTube, HBO, STARZ, Lyft et al. advertise to people with their product. Why aren’t institutions whose mission, vision, values, explicitly call for inclusivity?

Nike, Disney, HBO, Bratz Dollz, PANIC AT THE DISCO! took a stance… (Not to mention the Amish, The Witches, and Anonymous … 👀 ) are willing to RISK the monetary fall out that comes with just seeing black people as humans…

You all literally let NICKELODEON beat you to the punch… I AM EMBARRASSED.

Dang… the BOSTON BRUINS really have us all beat.

Ben and Jerry really played with fire .. AND THEY MAKE ICE CREAM!

How many students would commit to your institution, or students of color would commit to your institution if you just … SAW THEM… and SUPPORTED people that look like them. So why send an email if the text will just circle the drain. You’ve wasted your own time.

We will ALWAYS love Pokemon…

A statement.. donations… AND ONGOING. I love you pikachu!

Here are some institutions who took a stance by just either typing those 3 scary words…

Hampshire College:

Lutheran School of Theology in Chicago:

University of North Texas:

And for the elitists in the room: Everett Community College Put this on their homepage. You actually have to scroll to the bottom and click.. to get to the home page. I get it. it’s radical. Just sharing… (looks up online courses).

Honestly, if you’re patting yourself on the back and thought “wow, one of us did it… a white person is really putting it all out there and convinced the rest of the board/cabinet /etc to go with this”…I deceived you in the beginning.

This IS non-white university leadership. Heyyyy Dr. Willis! Dr. Willis is a black woman.

(WOW THAT IS A SHORT LIST … I bet the social media numbers might look a little different… OH that’s right… your value of the written word is weighed differently on email than on social media because of the people who consume it… got IT!)

But when you don’t say those words… and you just PROCLAIM black and brown people should belong anywhere they want to exist… is probably the whitest thing you can do.

On reading a statement from another institution, this friend wrote:

(this is putting the burden on people of color again…)

While we are at it… don’t be a GOOFY.
(Meaning, don’t get caught looking like a hypocrite, dumb, embarrassing, etc).

We all kept score when the NFL fined the peaceful protests against police brutality, suspended players, blackballed Colin Kaepernick — ENDING. HIS. CAREER. So if you’re now making sweeping proclamations about justice because everyone else is doing it… you need to remember we are keeping track. We are auditing your words and actions (past & present).

This Clemson alumna shared:

If you’re making anti-racist statements… and NOT saying you’ve actively benefited from racism as an institution or you’ve done harm or … etc etc etc…

You’ll get these types of responses.

We are keeping score.

5. YOUR “CALL TO ACTION”

SEPARATE. THESE. OUT.

Let me put this in terms that everyone was taught … (because critical race theory was CLEARLY not something taught as common higher ed curriculum… and it shows)

There are people who need to be challenged… and people who need support. SEPARATE THESE OUT!!! We do NOT all have the same call to action.

For the folks that need challenge: Spoon feed resources to normalize unlearning.

We need official university correspondence to professionally develop folks to OUT OF putting the burden on those that are also harmed. Do not ask your staff to do something you are not willing to do yourself.

  • You need to Link to things: Webinars, Podcasts, Articles
  • Reserve anti-racism textbooks for faculty and staff at the library (FOR FREE!!!) — OR USE INSTITUTIONAL FUNDS TO PURCHASE!
  • Did you know certain e-books on dismantling white supremacy went completely FREE online … oh.. the entry level staff that aren’t sitting on decision making committees knew. Sorry the barriers in place didn’t allow us to save your email from itsself
  • Tell them EXPLICITLY to not ask their colleagues of color how to help… what to read. YOU should be using your privilege to protect those already placed with the burden.
  • This video might explain it best.

Knowing what to read and where to start MIGHT have been easier if something other than revisionist/white history was taught to us from kindergarten through undergrad...and grad school. Your history was a requirement. Black, brown, native, APIDA, etc histories were electives. We learned to google a long time ago.

Can’t seem to find the resource? Don’t know of any? DON’T SEND THE EMAIL until you can fill that void.

While I have your attention:
Most of the folks signing these emails are required to hold terminal degrees… how many of your sources were not white men? How many times did you cite black women? Do you consume knowledge published by black men? Are you curating your own social media with accounts that your staff is consuming?

Challenge White folks to interrogate themselves: as done by the GLACUHO President in her statement on Racial Violence.

For the folks that need support: NORMALIZE CARE

  • Can you give your most impacted or vulnerable employees a day off?
  • Can you urge other leaders to acknowledge no one wants another zoom meeting now?
  • Can you name therapists in network that specialize in this type of trauma?
  • Can you highlight any donating/matching efforts the institution does?
  • Are you asking questions..

Did any of your staff forfeit some or of their savings accounts to bail black and brown students/colleagues/friends out of jail as a result of participating in protests that have been co-opted by opportunists?

Are any of your staff physically injured?

If you are lumping this address in one email for both students and staff…

  • HIGHLIGHT how you are supporting them as individual groups
  • These two are VERY different populations and require different support

There is value in them seeing the difference… because sometimes our students take care of us better than you do.

Are you connected to your employees to read what they’re feeling? Better yet, is it safe to accept your friend request so you can have this privilege?

One of my sisters wrote on Facebook:

What I am trying to say:
Don’t you dare sign an email off with a typical list of resources and support. You should not be copying and pasting the same “call to action” that will get lost in the abyss. You TAUGHT us this move. You’re checking a box. Are some emails that employees thought were ruined by the copy paste “resources”. (We can tell by the formatting …)

By the way you should really read that article above.

College of Staten Island:

*** HONORABLE MENTION: READ. THE. ROOM ***

You know what’s worse than a poorly written email? A poorly timed email.

An individual with various privileges at a local Chicago University sent an email that was opened by staff members returning to work after one of the most EXHAUSTING and TAXING weekends felt by black people of all time. I’ll include myself in this too, so I can appropriately assist. When I read this email that was forwarded to me (by multiple humans asking me to breathe to calm down to go for a walk)… I cracked in half. All of the strength I summoned to “get to work” on a Monday morning was stolen from me.

A scholar asked Instagram a question with this [very viral] email:

Responses to this influencer included: “quite white, reckless, what was the point of this email?”

Yes, being mayor is a tough job. Yes we see her blackness and queerness. Yes. She has led Chicago through a ridiculous pandemic and for the most part had done a great job…

AHEM…

but when your staff of color were risking their health and lives to peacefully protest in downtown Chicago.. they watched their leader turn on them. They felt betrayed. I was there when the bridges went up… when the panic set in as people turned to each other… THIS IS HAPPENING… the barricades to public transportation went up behind me… I was shoved by riot gear. I was separated from my friends… people were TRAPPED downtown. My friends were hurt. This is when the “violence” began.

Photocredit: Bendita Qian

I spent Sunday finding homes for former students that were arrested because they were disowned for attending a protest. They spent a night in police custody.

So when the email for a prayer for Lori’s leadership went out… it was a bad time. Probably the worst time. Your staff was there. You weren’t. AND IT SHOWS. Perhaps this might have been forgivable if thoughts and prayers were offered to those facing their own genocide… or maybe to the ones that were trapped this weekend. Because your staff was there.

Your STAFF WAS TRAPPED.

And before anyone tells me to give her direct feedback…. a fellow colleague with shared identities to this person and more energy stood up and replied. This is what we ask allies to do. She was met with “my intent was…” you know the rest… *washes hands of situation* — Go re-watch your Brene Brown YouTube video…. that’s not how this works.

So I’m saving myself from that rage. I’m funneling this somewhere else.

Also… right now… probably not the time to release fun videos of your campus.

Maybe I’ll tackle messaging that was sent directly to students next week… THAT needs to be its own separate email.

In Closing:

I’m going to continue to dive into this issue.

If your university has released a statement on racial violence — share the link to this google form. Not available on a website? Upload the email. Maybe I can code and tally up some stats…

AFTER I TAKE A LONG BREAK — because this was a labor of love.. AND I’m exhausted. Have I even had water today?

When Stone Cold Steve Austin… is a better advocate for removing damaging, oppressive symbols than university leadership? Maaaan. We are perpetually embarrassed.

--

--

Yesenia Garcia

LatinX creator, lover of corgis, hater of all “-isms” She/Her/Hers