The Motto Of Work Hard Now And Enjoy Life Later

There’s more to life than chasing success and wealth.

David
2 min readMar 24, 2018

There are innumerable benefits of long-term work as well as the consequences that come along from such sacrifice.

I’ve lost relationships, potential friends, and connections due to my avoidance of people whom I find distracting.

I’ve spent time working on goals, projects, and the achievement of these aspirations, only to neglect other aspects of my life.

I quit social media, time from old buddies, and regretfully with family, for the purpose of pursuing a better life.

Soon, you begin to realize, this journey of personal growth is a lonely one. The average person won’t understand the pains and struggles you’ve put yourself through .

The times you’ve said no to things that do not benefit you. The guilt of ignoring those most dear to you. Doubting yourself if this is the right way to go.

And to be honest, there’s no right or wrong. We’re all doing what we believe is right — doing what makes us happy.

We may dream for a better life, but let’s not forget what’s in front of us. The people that love us. What we have to be grateful for.

When work has reached a point where you can’t enjoy life, it’s time to take a step back and evaluate.

What leaves us, when we die isn’t the materialism of life, but the experiences and memories we’ve shared with others.

The dying words of Steve Jobs were:

“I reached the pinnacle of success in the business world. In others’ eyes, my life is an epitome of success.

However, aside from work, I have little joy. In the end, wealth is only a fact of life that I am accustomed to.

At this moment, lying on the sick bed and recalling my whole life, I realize that all the recognition and wealth that I took so much pride in, have paled and become meaningless in the face of impending death.

In the darkness, I look at the green lights from the life supporting machines and hear the humming mechanical sounds, I can feel the breath of god of death drawing closer…

Now I know, when we have accumulated sufficient wealth to last our lifetime, we should pursue other matters that are unrelated to wealth…

Should be something that is more important:

Perhaps relationships, perhaps art, perhaps a dream from younger days

Non-stop pursuing of wealth will only turn a person into a twisted being, just like me.”

--

--