Yiannis Toumazis
4 min readDec 22, 2014
Source: paulinevetuna.wordpress.com

The Best Dreams Happen When You’re Awake….

Some people only recognize the term ‘dream’ as the elusive image their mind or sub-conscious produces at night while they’re asleep….Others, like myself, dream while we’re wide awake. We make our dreams turn into reality. Why? Primarily because we dare to dream what others call ‘the impossible’; yet here I am, living the “impossible”!

At the age of 19 up to 21, I went through a very dark period in my life. A period where I had lost all sense of purpose in life, other than mere existence that leads to a slow and painful death. My soul was pitch black. I had nothing to live for — nothing to look forward to — nothing to fight for. My productivity had dropped to below zero. The reason? I gave up on my dreams…

People, and society in general will try and ground you. They will try to convince you that dreams do not come true. That dreamers do not live in a realistic world…That ‘happy endings’ only occur in romantic fairytales and seedy massage parlours in dark alleys. Well guess what….The world is full of examples that prove them wrong. People that had a dream and were not afraid to chase that dream, no matter how big or small that was. People such as Walt Disney, Thomas Edison or the more recent Steve Jobs, Bill Gates and basketball legend Michael Jordan.

You have an obligation towards yourself, towards your pursuit of happiness to keep your dream alive. No matter what people say, you need to keep yourself focused on your dream or dreams. It doesn’t matter whether your dream is as small as being able to run that marathon you’ve wanting to for years now, or as big as being able to go to the moon. The sky is not the limit. There IS NO LIMIT. The more you visualise what you truly desire, the more likely it is to actually happen. Dream….Dream….Dream…

Beach Tennis World Team Championships 2013 — Moscow, Russia

Why do I feel like sharing all these with you? Because at the age of 27, I have reached a point in my life, where I’ve managed to fulfil some of my dreams, yet I keep investing in new ones. One of my dreams was to play in a European Championship. A couple of years down the line and I’ve played in 3 Europeans and 1 World Championship and I’m currently ranked No.1 player in Great Britain. Hah, a guy standing at 5 foot 8", in a sport with the height of the net at the same height as the top of his head, with minimal tennis experience, playing for the National Team of Great Britain for 3 years in a row and still counting? If you told people that a few years back, all you would get would be a laugh.

Another ‘wild’ dream I also had was to move to Los Angeles, California. That dream has also now become a reality. A couple of years back, all these were just dreams waiting for someone to claim ownership of them and see them through. The power of dreaming is unconceivable. It has utterly changed my life. It brings with it the anticipation of a new day through sunrise, and the gratefulness for another day through the beauty of a sunset. I now look at these two natural yet magically surreal occurings, taking place under the warm Californian sky, with a sense of fulfilment and peacefulness.

Sunset in California — November 2014

I often find myself smiling whilst thinking about how grateful I am to myself for having these ‘unreal’ and ‘impossible’ dreams. Some people need to close their eyes and dream of where they want to be. I just keep my eyes wide open cause I’m there…

I want YOU to have the opportunity to experience this feeling.

Thank you to every single one of you for spending a few minutes to read this, and I hope my thoughts imprinted above have touched or inspired someone to make that life changing move towards the better. There is no greater feeling than that of helping someone change their attitude towards life. Keep dreaming everyone!

Please leave a comment or note if you would like more posts like this one… More to follow….

Contact me: yiannistoumazis@gmail.com

Yiannis Toumazis

Semi-pro athlete ~ World traveller ~ Soul explorer ~ Ambitious Dreamer ……. A dream that started from beautiful Cyprus and found a home in Southern California!