Blender Day 1 Challenge

ying ye
1 min readSep 25, 2020

--

In this 30 day challenge, I make myself accountable for learning Blender, a 3D compositing, and animating software.

After going through the Blender tutorial and pages of notes, I’m comfortable starting beginning to create an extremely simple 3D animation. In this month-long challenge, I’m inspired by the character animation in Duolingo. Each week I’ll bring some of these characters into life and document the process behind it.

In Duolingo’s Style Guide, they broke down the shape of their illustration style into several basic shapes. I wanted to start with this basic mindset as a tackle my first Blender 3D animation. The first challenge: the Duolingo mascot, Duo. My favorite mood is this one:

After doing a bit of research into the development of Duo and the illustration system, I started to break down the process.

--

--