Noah Kim
2 min readDec 5, 2021

CS373 Fall 2021: Noah Kim : Final Entry

  • How well do you think the course conveyed those takeaways?

The practices and quizzes conveyed takeaways effectively personally. Quizzes allowed me to reflect on materials from previous lectures. Thus, points in the lectures had apparent takeaways as listed.

  • Were there any other particular takeaways for you?

Set minor deadlines for projects since it allows a steady pace for the group. Thus, it allows early completion of the project.

  • How did you feel about cold calling?

It was nerve-wracking at first since I am not a social person to speak in front of class nonchalantly. However, I began to feel less burdened as I realized I did not have to be well aware of the topic when I am old called. Overall, it was a good experience since it allowed me to stay focused in class.

  • How did you feel about specifications grading?

The grading rubric is straightforward, clear, and fair. However, I hope for consistency with the upgrade form and the actual grading specifications since it was a bit confusing due to their inconsistency. Besides, I wish there was a way to use the E I earned in a later phase for papers.

  • How did you feel about help sessions and office hours?

I did not go to help sessions or office hours, so I do not have any feelings that developed from visiting help sessions and office hours.

  • How did you feel about the support from the TAs?

I found their efforts to help us break through the projects were helpful. I appreciate their hard work putting together tutorials and grading specifications for each phase.

  • What required tool did you not know and now find very useful?

I did not know about SQL since I was unexposed to data queries. Now that I am aware of its commands and functionality, I could now fully understand its possible usages.

  • What’s the most helpful Web dev tool that your group used that was not required?

Using React for the frontend, was a helpful web dev tool. There were always useful npm packages for React components. Besides, React wraps its components in div. Thus, it reduces the chance of exposing HTML elements.

  • How did you feel about your group having to self-teach many, many technologies?

It felt a bit harsh as other classes took over my time to self-teach myself. Lack of time to spend self-teaching left me behind others who are well aware of the technologies. Thus, I felt a bit overwhelmed to catch up.