【Experience】 Letter from myself in 2012

Yoichi
3 min readJul 31, 2022

--

Capsule letter. . . which is a letter ordinarily written at a time and sent to someone or oneself in a certain time of its life in the future.

●Written 10 years ago

A letter written in 2012 had been buried in a playpark in Setagaya Tokyo, since I was a staff member of the playpark. A leader of the park told us in 2012 that we would be here in July 2022 to dig and open it out!

Time flies. The ‘’10 years’’ is coming so quickly. Members of ‘’tetto hiroba’’, or playpark, reunited last Monday, Marine Day Holiday.

●Anthropologists gathered

First needs investigation. Where it’s been buried. How deep. Memories of all anthropologists are so poor. Searching and digging but off the mark for 1 hour while temperature rose above 33 degrees.

Second stands an obstacle, extending roots of the trees. These roots didn’t exist right there 10 years ago but the period has made it

significantly grow. Saying sorry to trees processing the work using scoops.

●A scoop hits a metal like object

One hour work of digging up helps us have a hope. A scoop did catch a touch of metal. Most likely a part of outer box that has been eroded during the period. Finally the box was pulled out of the ‘’tomb’’

I grabbed it and pull it out of the ground.

●What is inside alive?

Objects buried for a long time under ground are said to have been affected by moisture especially in a temperate zone like Japan. Pyramids can be kept safe due to its extreme dry climate.

Some might have thought it could go wet. . . . but it’s recovered safe and sound by being stored with it covered by multi poly-bags.

●Who wrote you

All of us were younger than as we are today. The letter wrote then circumstances including what is my current job, what I am studying for, my daughter is 2 years old…..And I found some pictures that I put immediately before burying at that time.

Ten years….long and short…my daughter will grow to be an adult in next 10 years, meaning my physical strength will wane due to my age…The work was like a torture to me as it was shoulder and back-aching job in the temperature of 34 degrees and sweat some gallons this time,,,, Enjoying!
Let me do this kind of anthropologist job!!

--

--

Yoichi

Tour guide in Tokyo Waiting for tourists from all over the world when COVID subsided