Stairways to Nirvana

Irena Bartolec
4 min readAug 6, 2019

--

Unsplash

Nirvana is a state of perfect peace and happiness.Its the highest state of consciousness that some can attain, a state of enlighten , a transcendental state where there is no suffering, desire, sense of self and the subject is released from the cycles of birth and death.

The eight stages of how to reach Nirvana can be grouped in Wisdom (right understanding and intention), Ethical Conduct (right speech, action and livelihood) and Meditation (right effort, mindfulness and concentration).

In many spiritual practices and religions this is the highs goal. Heaven itself that can be attained during ones life in case of Buddha and few other spiritual seekers.

Today terms like Nirvana and enlightenment are being used to promote fast growing wellbeing industry to sell anything from online courses, teacher trainings, herbal teas, bumper stickers and expensive meditation pillows. In this day and age when everything is moving so fast, there is a demand for self enquire and spiritual work to be another fast food product.

There are many courses that are promising self love, happiness and inner peace in only few day or even hours.

The truth is for most of us to reach the state of Nirvana it takes time. Most probably couple of life times. There is no short cuts or detours.We cannot skip looking at our shadows and undesirable emotions while expecting only happiness and bliss.

We need to face each obstacle on our way again and again until we learn a lesson.

In my experience the most important step is to keep showing up with the right intentions and open heart. To dedicate our time for practice we choose that is guiding us on that stairways to Nirvana. Give it a time to grow and allowing it to guide us. Like planting seed and watching it to grow.

As a yoga teacher since more than 15 years I’ve herd more excuses from students why not to practice than reasons to show up for the practice. “Im not flexible.”, “Its far away”, “Its too cold, warm or rainy”, “I had a big dinner last night” , “I didn’t practice for 6 months” “ My neighbour told me that he didn’t like it”…..

Granted Ashtanga Yoga is considered demanding practice but its just like any other spiritual practice. Its designed to move you outside of your comfort zone and bring up on the surface all the things we have been skilfully hiding under the carpet. You just need to show up and deal with the messy self.

I always remember when started to practice that I needed to promise my teacher that I’ll keep showing up on the mat every day for a year at the certain time of the day I choose. It sounded easy but after few weeks I regret that I gave that promise. Winter came and there was nothing worse than getting up from warm bed, commuting 30 minutes in the snow and cold wind while outside was still dark to reach Shala and be barefoot on the cold mat.To make it easier and to trick myself in to doing it I told myself “ok, just wake up, go to shala, chant and if still tired just do the resting pose”. The whole quest became more tolerable. So many days I came with intention to chant and sleep on my mat but it was cold so my body felt better if I moved it around a bit. Slowly without even noticing it I was creating a habit of waking up and doing my practice every day. Slowly my eating and life habits changed. People I use to spend time with and places I’ll go. Gently and Without any big announcements the world around me changed to support me. Now it’s just something I do. No fanfares or angel singing if I made it.

Just like when you are learning kids how to brush. You need at least a year (at least in my case) to remind them every single morning and evening to brush. Most of the time it requires you to be there in the bathroom and guide them in the process otherwise they just wet the toothbrush and suck the water.

So instead of making up excuses try to turn them in to a reasons why to practice. Train your mind to be grateful for the privilege you have in this life to have this practices.Keep showing up day by day year by year. Be compassionate and patient with whatever is arising. Make it your priority and make choices that supports your spiritual growth. Where ever you are, it’s a perfect place to start.

--

--