Review on Night and Day by Virginia Woolf.

Fadékemi Sophia Abayomi
2 min readAug 17, 2023

--

Night and Day is not your typical romantic novel but a book with an exciting love story. The plot centers around Katharine Hilbery, the granddaughter of a famous poet whose family takes delight in literature, especially poetry. However, Katharine had an interest in mathematics and calculations. She was a tour guide to visitors that came to look at her grandfather’s poetry and all he worked with while still alive. Katherine is engaged to a man named Rodney William, who loves poetry and also writes poems. Along the line, she comes in contact with someone who shares similar interests and seems like her. With this development comes a twist in the life of Katharine and Rodney. What do you think this twist might be? Do you think their engagement will be affected?

The story is set in London during the 19th century. Interestingly, the book was first published on October 20th, 1919. I would add that Virginia Woolf’s lifestyle is evident in this story. It almost seemed like a reflection of some parts of her life. This book gave off the feeling of an old English movie. The characters came alive in my subconscious as I read the book. The book is thrilling and centers on love, family, interest, and societal issues surrounding women. The title of this book was what drew my attention. It was so inviting and called out my name. This is my first time reading a book by this author, and I must say that she is an incredible writer. The historical dates, names, and language utilized in the novel were all explained, which made the reading more enjoyable. For example, I learned a little about William Shakespeare and other great English poets. Also, the locations used in the story were real places in London. As I read, I imagined going to those places to see for myself. A bit of alertness: the book is vast, but you will love it, especially if you enjoy old English novels. You can access the soft copy of this book through this site: www.globalgreyebooks.com and the hardcopy at any bookstore close to you. Have fun reading!

--

--