Case study : Atable

Yosra Hannachi
3 min readMay 25, 2020

--

Bringing people together around the good meal

Collage for Atable app

Within the framework of a school project, I created an application that facilitates the connection between travelers and the locals, who wish to live a personalized experience around a good meal.

👩🏻‍💻 My role

As UX / UI designer my role was creating an application and bringing people together around a good meal and, at the same time, enriching the user experience.

Design process

Research

I carried out a questionnaire in order to better understand the opinion of users on the relationship between cooking and social relationships.

37 people answered the questionnaire, which included open ended-questions . For this reason, I chose to ask questions such as “Tell me” and “Why” in order to push their thoughts.

I communicated the questionnaire via social media such as Facebook and Instagram.

The goal of this questionnaire was not to collect as many answers as possible but rather to gather quality information.

Problem & needs definition

After doing the first questionnaire and gathering some information, I conducted informal interviews to get a deeper understanding of users needs.

Therefore, I selected some people who, I considered to be key experts on subjects related to this project (sociologists, chefs etc.)

UX delivery

I created Personas to represent a user group that faces a similar problem. This gave me a clear picture of the user’s expectations and how they would like to use the product I wanted to develop.

Principle persona
Empathy map

Journey map

Journey map

User scenario

Wireframe

Branding

First iteration

I’m my own users, but I’m not like my users.

Indeed, I did a user test, in order to understand if there are points to improve or add.
How did I do that ? Via the InVision and Adobe XD
Who : 7 people between the ages of 20–28.
What : All steps from connection to payment.

Results

Validated : Design, clarity of information.
Area for improvement: Enlarge the search bar for better visibility,
indicators & text size.

Conclusion

Through user testing I was able to modify the first version in order to improve the understanding of the user experience and the purpose of the application.
There are still conceptual elements to be reworked and details to be refined.

--

--