Virtual Cameras

Eric Young
2 min readJun 20, 2022

--

An Example in Practice

There I was learning a bit about the Track Dolley w/ cart and the Group cameras when an idea overtook me.

I wanted to use these together to highlight auseful example so I set up a quick scene.

So my first camera is a Dolley Track with cart. It begins facing the front of the player and ends up low and on the left side of the character.

Dolley Camera w/ Cart (beginning, end)

When the ‘R’ key is pressed it switches to the next camera. In this case it is the Group Camera 1. This frames the character, plane and window on the wall.

Group Camera 1
Group Camera 2(beginning, end)

Finally, upon the press of the ‘R’ key, we zoom out to take it all in- the UFO, character, window and plane. As the UFO moves to hover over the character the camera’s field of view decreases ending in a tight shot of all of the elements specified.

--

--