Classical Music Is Not Dead!

Younk
3 min readMay 9, 2019

--

It didn’t end with Beethoven or Tchaikovsky. Composer, arranger, pianist, producer — at his 24, Dmytro Gordon is the new face of neoclassical takeover. He won Hit Funding on younk.com last October, and his unique music video is on its way. He created “Waltzing With Life”, which became the first ever “non-lyrical” track that ever got supported by Younk community.

A world known producer and composer Walter Afanasieff, known for “My Heart Will Go On” by Celine Dion, saw a unique gem and talent in this 24-year-old musician. Now Dmytro and Walter are working together in Afanasieff’s studio in L.A. and who knows, maybe one day you won’t be able to imagine a movie without Gordon’s sound. To discover the rising star before he becomes mainstream, have a look at Dmytro’s “Waltzing With Life” teaser.

Y: At what point in your musical career do you feel you are?

DG: Composition has always been my primary purpose in music, and I am staying true to it throughout my life and career, so definitely writing instrumental and film music occupies most of my time. However, in today’s age of technology it goes along closely with the production, so on some days I equally feel like a producer as well.

Y: You range from making film scores, classical music, arrangements, and compositions to video game scores. Is there a particular genre you have a special corner for?

DG: Film music is what got me into the music world in the first place. Having associations with grand movies like Star Wars, Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings that were coming out during my childhood, and being exposed to the characteristic music of these films, I have developed a very strong sense for cinematographic music, which eventually led me into film scoring. With video games, it’s kind of a very similar story. Classical music, however, was something that I have really discovered a little later, and I truly believe that it is with classical music that I can express myself best as an artist.

Y: A lot of people have spoken about your unique style. Do you make a conscious effort to bring the “you-ness” in your music?

DG: I would probably say yes. I feel that there are plenty of composers who can do a great job writing a symphony, a film score, a song, or just music of any shape and form. The question is: what is it that makes you stand out? So, when working on another project, I keep asking myself a question: How can I leave my signature in this? What is it going to be? Is it special voicing that I tend to use, or maybe a melodic sequence, or how about this combination of instruments, etc. It’s always different for every project.

Y: In your new upcoming video release, produced by Younk, your main theme is clowns. Why clowns?

DG: Clowns have such different characters: good, evil, sad, funny, modest and arrogant. However, they are all united by the fact that they touch our emotions. The heroes from “Waltzing With Life” live in a gloomy world and, therefore, are so passionately eager to live themselves a beautiful dance with life. But can they complete their passions and save the Flower of Life?

“Waltzing With Life” premiere comes out on Friday, 10th of May on Younk Official YouTube channel. Subscribe now so you won’t miss a thing!

--

--

Younk

Younk is the first community-based music label where everyone can discover and support future Hits. Learn more at younk.com