Every European country should return the colonial looted art to its countries of origin

I wish I could have my gold back and speak my Native Language again!

Your NativeFriend
2 min readAug 11, 2023
Photo by Neneqo Fotógrafo from Pexels

Please scroll down to see the entire article!

https://ko-fi.com/indiadorada

Colonization was not only European people arriving in America and forcing Native Americans to be slaves, sex slaves, and forcing them to work to death.

There was also a massive and heavy intellectual looting that happened. Spanish was forced on us, we were forced to speak the colonizer’s language and deny our roots. We were forced to forget who we were and become like the colonizer.

Speak like the colonizer, dress like the colonizer, and act like those people who were telling us who we were and how we should be.

I wish I could hear what my Native Language “huetar” once sounded like.

Today we have just some words which we treasure like gold.

Words like “Biriteca” (Female Warrior), “Yuyo” (Small bug), “Upe” (Is anybody home?) connect us to our ancestors and fill our hearts with daily…

--

--

Your NativeFriend

Native American writer, cultural and social critic, painter and language learner. Pacacua Nation .......... https://ko-fi.com/indiadorada