Finding Mr.Right! (part 1)

Sujita
3 min readJun 11, 2024

--

On the Hunt for a Soulmate I have started -‘Exploring the World of Men

The Dream:

Once upon a time, there was a girl who dreamed of marrying someone like Prabhas, or at least someone who resembled him in height, humor, and love.

But as you know, those things only happen in dreams. In real life, it’s quite the opposite. My husband is nothing like Prabhas, with no height, a big belly, no hair, with a 5+ eyesight, a brown skin color etc., of course I do love him more than anyone however he looks…🤗

So to begin with.. here is how my search started..

The very first person who visited my house for the traditional “pelli chupulu” turned out to be the person I had fallen in love with. He was exactly what I had been searching for. But alas, he rejected me😞. The reason behind his rejection was our inability to meet the dowry expectations and a few other factors to discuss. So, my first rejection occurred, and the trend continued.

First time is always special, right? So, many of my relatives visited our home, and our neighbors were filled with curiosity. Even my parents and I were extremely excited. Although I might not have been able to fully express the emotions we all felt at that time, everyone was thinking that a real marriage was taking place, not just a “pelli chupulu” (marriage meeting). But unfortunately, it failed miserably. The rejection hit everyone hard, not just me.

Andddd it begins… more meetings took place and more rejections followed. But one day, just like every dog has its day, it was my turn. I rejected a guy. Actually, everyone in my family rejected him because he wasn’t earning well, and his family’s behavior wasn’t great either. Anyways, that chapter was closed. But every time someone came for a meeting, it felt like a mountain of work. Not to mention tying saree and doing makeup, but it also involved cleaning the house, bringing out all the silver vessels, cooking a variety of dishes, borrowing chairs from neighbors, showcasing all the new jewelry, changing bedsheets, curtains, and more. And after they left, it was back to restoring everything to its original state. Oh my goodness, it was just pure chaos, especially for me and my mom.

Once this guy came over. He is a doctor. Naturally, we were thrilled because they were way above our social standing. Everything seemed fine with the guy. We had separate conversations and hit it off. I had my eyes set on him. However, his mother had an issue. She asked about the accommodation arrangements after marriage, specifically if we had a separate bedroom or at least a separate room for couples when they visit. Unfortunately, since we were living in a tiled house and didn’t have any separate rooms, I was eventually rejected. It was disheartening because I had born and bought up in that very house and had a deep connection to it.

In all my “pellichupulu” stories, I have only encountered two doctors. The rest belonged to different professions. Now, let’s talk about this particular doctor. Upon seeing him, I couldn’t help but think he would be better suited as a patient rather than a doctor. To be honest, that entire day felt absurd. No one showed genuine interest in getting to know me. Most of the conversation revolved around my mother’s cooking skills. Apparently, she had prepared some delicious bajji that everyone enjoyed. But let’s set that aside for now and focus on their conditions and expectations, which seemed quite intimidating to me at that age.

They were a joint family. I had to wake up early, perform daily puja, then only my day starts and couldn’t eat or drink before that. They expected me to follow traditional practices, be devoted to god just like the guy also i have to be excel in cooking, and have a job. 🤦‍♀️seriously.. It was overwhelming. Thankfully, they rejected me. Honestly, even if they had agreed, I would have rejected them without hesitation.

It’s an ongoing journey with many stories to share. Some are hilarious, some are scary, and some are sad. Stay tuned for part 2 for more intriguing tales! 😄 Thank you all.

--

--

Sujita

Mother! Engineer! Podcaster! Blogger! Author! Yes, I use AI. Content - My Heart!! Editor - AI !! "Love sharing funny stories to brighten people's day."😀🙏