How Do I Connect My Phone To My Canon Printer?

Your tech expert
4 min readSep 25, 2023

Hi Let’s Get Started ▶▶▶▶

Connect My Phone To My Canon Printer

How Do I Connect My Phone To My Canon Printer?

There was a day when we were entirely dependent on computers for printing anything. But today is not the same case. We can now do almost everything with smartphones. Using mobiles, we can connect our phone to any Canon printer. Hence, you can print things like your emails, photos, documents, and other relevant documents using your Android devices. However, many people do not know how to connect their phones to Canon printers. Therefore, we have brought this post that explores how do I connect my phone to my Canon printer. With this guide, you will learn two methods to connect the Canon printer with your smartphone. Besides, we will see an easy method to print anything from Android & iOS mobile devices.

How Do I Connect My Phone to My Canon Printer via Wi-Fi?

Connecting a Canon printer to your mobile phone is not a big task. However, we can use two methods to connect the printer to the mobile devices. The first is connecting via Wi-Fi using the Canon Print App. The second one is peer-to-peer, which is also called P2P direct connection. Let us dive into these two methods to learn more about it.

To connect the Canon printer to your mobile devices (Android/iOS), you can follow the steps below:

  1. Firstly, you will need to download the Canon Print app. Android/iOS users can download and install the app from the Play Store or App Store.
  2. After downloading, proceed with the installation process.
  3. Then, ensure the printer is plugged into the power socket and it is switched on.
  4. After that, ensure the Wi-Fi is working properly.
  5. And then, you can launch the Canon Print app.
  6. Further, you will need to tap on the printer from the main screen.
  7. Press the Registered Printer option and then the Printer Setup.
  8. Now, choose the connection via the wireless router option.
  9. Then, you can choose the access point or wireless network that you want to use.
  10. Next, supply the password for the WIRELESS network and select OK.
  11. Once the network settings are sent to the Canon printer, the prompt will ask to press OK.
  12. Further, you will need to confirm the printer has been detected and then select the printer’s name to connect your device with it.
  13. Then press OK to confirm and use the print option to run a test print.

How Do I Connect My Phone to My Canon Printer via P2P?

Perform the steps in the section below to connect your mobile device to the printer using a P2P connection:

  1. Go to the mobile portal, then click the Direct Connection.
  2. Now, scan the QR code using the scanner app, and then follow the given instructions.
  3. Now, you will need to pair your Android phone with the printer via Bluetooth.
  4. With the help of Near Field Communication, you can touch your mobile phone or tap the Canon printer.
  5. For this procedure, you may need extra phone accessories.

How Can I Print From a Phone With Wireless Routers?

So now you have mastered how to connect a Canon printer to a phone. You can print wirelessly using Wi-Fi. So, let’s have a look at how to send images from an Android to a SELPHY printer using Wi-Fi.

  1. You need the above requirements to connect your smartphone with Canon Print Inkjet SELPHY via Wi-Fi (Android 4.1).
  2. Ensure the phone’s Android version. You can do this by going to the Settings.
  3. Then, go to the About Phone or My Phone option to see if your device meets the requirements.
  4. For iOS users, the requirement is iOS 9.0 and higher.
  5. Next, download the Canon PRINT inkjet/SELPHY app from the Play Store/App Store.
  1. To connect with SELPHY, switch on Wi-Fi on your phone.
  2. Hit the Canon PRINT inkjet/SELPHY icon on the phone and start printing.

Conclusion

These Canon printers come with a wide range of specifications and features, and the best thing is they can print via Wi-Fi using an Android phone or iPhone. However, the blog covered the main topic, i.e., how do I connect my phone to my Canon printer? Further, we have explained the steps to print using a phone via a wireless router. To explain this, we discussed the two methods to connect the printer to your phone.

FAQs

Question 1: How do I print from my Canon printer without Wi-Fi?

Answer: The printer supports two types of connection methods. USB, Ethernet, or wireless. None of them depend on the internet connection to function. Without the internet, users can’t use cloud-based features like scanning to email. However, printing and scanning from devices on a local network is possible.

Question 2: Can all printers be connected to mobile devices?

Answer: Almost all modern printers come with Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. You need to download the printer app to your phone to connect the printer to your phone. The app will enable you to send the document to your printer wirelessly from your phone. However, if your printer doesn’t have such features, then you can connect with USB.

Question 3: Can I connect the Canon PIXMA printer to my phone?

Answer: Smartphone and tablet users can download and install the Canon Print Inkjet/SELPHY app on their devices. To download, you can go to Google Play or the Apple App Store. After that, when you open the Canon app for the first time on your device, it will detect the printer automatically you are using.

Source:- Connect My Phone To My Canon Printer

--

--

Your tech expert

Hello, folks! I am Michael, an IT consultant in California. While browsing I came across theyourtechexpert.com. And I must say that this is a wonderful website