GPT Studio: Why I developed it.

Yuichi Aiki
2 min readDec 14, 2023

--

The Excitement of GPTs Development 🚀

Hello, I’m Aiki, a developer at GPT Studio. On November 6, 2023, coincidentally my birthday, OpenAI announced a new update 📣. The attention was on GPT4’s upgrade, price revision, DALL-E, and notably, GPTs 🤖. The ease of creating specialized AIs through natural language was a hot topic. Thrilled, I started using GPTs.Writing prompts in the Instructions and running them, I created an AI coach capable of organizing emotions in less than an hour. It surpassed my expectations with responses indistinguishable from a real coach 🎉.

The Need for Prompt Version Control🔁

In refining the prompts, I realized the need for version control. As an engineer, version control with Git is vital for coding. It allows reverting to previous versions when bugs occur or testing different features. However, GPTs’ prompts lacked this🤔. Different prompt styles can yield better results, but without saving past versions, reverting becomes impossible. Over time, reasons for specific changes can be forgotten, undermining trial and error efforts. That’s why I began developing GPT Studio, to enable appropriate version control for prompts🛠️.

New Challenge: Measuring Effectiveness📊

Operating my GPTs, I faced a new challenge — difficulty in measuring effectiveness. Developers only see cumulative session numbers, requiring daily manual tracking. This impedes proper impact evaluation. Thus, I added an automatic session number tracking feature to GPT Studio. It records current session numbers each time you open your GPTs list, allowing easy tracking of each GPT’s progress👍.

Anticipation for GPTs🌟

In January 2024, next month, the GPT Store will launch, enabling revenue sharing for popular GPTs. The limitless potential of GPTs excites me. I’m thrilled to have created a service supporting GPT development. I am looking forward to try out amazing GPTs that you’re going to create.✨

Installation

You can install the extension from the Chrome Web Store. It can be used immediately without any configuration.

https://chromewebstore.google.com/u/3/detail/pbbbnpnejaciejijalicjfdpegaaeclk

--

--