How to draw handwritten typography and into a digital font

Yuko Snow
4 min readDec 4, 2017

--

I love drawing and one of my favorite graphic and art design is handwritten typography design. I think it is great to create your own design of fonts and typography because there will be the only one original fonts in the world. I will show you how to draw handwritten typography and how to digitize it.

First, you need this kind of pen ( brush Calligraphy pen)You can see the brush pen comparison in this link! https://piecescalligraphy.com/2015/07/05/brush-pen-comparison/. This brush calligraphy pen is soft pen tip, so it is very easy to control heaviest of your stroke.

This is an important point when you draw the typography, go down will have heavy stroke and go up have light stroke. It is easy that just pay attention down a heavy and up a light, you can draw beautiful handwritten typography! Still, it needs a little practice to use it, so do the practice until you use to do it to write with soft tip pen. I think it is not too difficult, so enjoy practice with any different kind of the shape of fonts.

When you are ready, it is time to design your own typography!

You can get some idea and font design from the website.https://www.pinterest.com/explore/handwritten-typography/?lp=true there are many examples to get some idea of your own typography design!

Here is my handwritten typography:

This is my handwritten typography design. It is not my favorite one because this design is just I did when I did not have much time back then. ( I can draw better now !!maybe;)I took a photo by my iPhone. This handwritten design can be digitized and use for graphic design poster or web site if you want to use it.
here is how to digitize your handwritten typography:

This iPhone photo put into the Photoshop and go to image-Adjustments-Curves. Then you can control the light and shadow contrast.

Then here is how to use the Curves. You can play around with white back ground and black typography has a good contrast. You can move left to right and top to down the curves graph to see how the contrast will change.

Then save as a jpeg.

After you save to a jpeg, this jpeg image put into Illustrator then image trace-expand.

Here is the after expand image. You can see my handwritten typography in to the vector image! Now you can use your original handwriten font for your website or graphic design!

After expand, you can use the direct selection tool to change and clean up the shape if you want!

I am a web and graphic design student, so I do design mostly on computer, but I still big fun of the hand drawing on the paper. I love drawing on the canvas with my hand, but at the same time, I love the technology of the graphic design to make beautiful art.

I think this a great way to get your drawing into a digital image so that you can make it into a graphic design to get your original fonts!

--

--