Wellness Case Study

Yuliia Yarema
5 min readMar 11, 2019

The Client

The National Wellness Institute (NWI) is an organization founded in 1977 with the mission of “providing health promotion and wellness professionals unparalleled resources and services that fuel professional and personal growth”. NWI offers certifications and training for wellness professionals, providing them with the framework and tools that assist their clients and help them achieve their wellness goals. The company has been very successful over the years and are a trusted source for all things wellness-related.

The Problem

National Wellness Institute is very successful, however they are being slow catching up with modern world technologies. As a result, there has been a substantial drop in membership. The NWI needs to find an innovative way to increase value of their members, and they have decided to do this by creating a set of digital wellness tools for their wellness coaches.

Requirements

  • Users need to be able to set up their profile to include important information relevant to their goals
  • Users need to be able to set goals and track their progress
  • Users need to be able to share their stats with their wellness coaches

I began my research by creating the Lean UX Canvas, this would help me to understand user needs.

“We believe that our goal will be achieved if clients will communicate with the coach and share their progress with them.”

Feature comparison chart allows us to see competitors features, and shows opportunities for our future product. Competitors research showed us our users mental model.

In order to better understand position of future product, Blue Ocean Map allows us to see competitors position, and opportunities for future app.

User Research

Quantitative research

I collected 102 surveys, and here are few of the results:

56% getting more stress out at work

54% have sleeping problems caused by stress

Qualitative research

I interviewed 5 people from my target audience, and that’s what they said:

“I’m trying to breathe deeper when I’m stressing”

“I’m trying to think about something positive”

The worse I sleep the more awful my day is”

After all this data I needed to make sense of it all. Affinity Map is where we can take all of data and sort them into Pains, Habits and Gains.

I discovered that Main Pain Point is poor sleep quality that causes bad work productivity, it’s hard to concentrate, hard to control emotions, etc.

User Persona represent our target audience and here we can focus on his needs and frustrations. Currently Chris is struggling with insomnia.

User Journey

This is one day from Chris’s life, and we can see that he is the most stressed when he’s working. And when he gets home, the biggest problem is to fall asleep.

Ideation:

I started to ideate using HMW statement. How might we help to improve concentration? How might we make sleep quality better? How might we help people to prevent stress? The purpose of this technique is to come up with as many solutions as possible, then evaluate which one of those will have the highest impact while being of minimal effort to deploy. The MOSCOW method also helped me to come up with my minimal viable product (MVP).

We know from the data that that one of the main pain points was bad sleep quality, so after that MVP was clear as day, it will be breathing exercises for sleeping with quick access.

Low and Mid-Fi Prototypes:

Now it’s time to create Low-Fidelity wireframes, then test them and in the end find out the possible problems.

I did 5 usability testings, and all testers were confused with two buttons . So I changed them, created Mid-Fidelity wireframes and tested them again.

After all the tests and changes it was time to create User Interface Design, I started with brand attributes which is:

Calming

Relaxing

Sleeping

Meditation

Peaceful

And based on brand attributes I created Mood Board

After I took inspiration from Mood Board, and created Hi-Fi wireframes it was time for desirability test, and it failed.

So after some changes and more testings I finally came up with product that users liked.

Check out the prototype below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwI_dwU6jto

We will know that we succeed if we will see good feedbacks and reviews, if clients will communicate with the coaches and share their progress with them.

Work, school, home, traffic…In our world people are stressing too much, and I hope my Relax app will help them to struggle with stress and make them feel better. In the future I would like to include the yoga exercises for sleeping and relaxation.
Doing this project I realized the power of usability testing, how important it is to test your product on each step. By doing this you can save a lot of time, get some great ideas. And in the end I came up with a great product.
Thank you for reading and do not forget to Relax!

--

--