Yumio to Buntsu (ユミオとブンツウ) 05 — Yuka Rice (ライス由香/a freelance video game translator from the U.S.)

Yumio Katsumata (勝又弓雄)
9 min readJan 29, 2024

--

https://twitter.com/Kikiko0909

Hi, folks! Thanks for reading. This episode of “Yumio to Buntsu,” literally means “interacting with Yumio through writing” since “Buntsu (ブンツウ/文通)” refers to “communicating with someone far away by writing,” features “a freelance video game translator,” and a native Japanese speaker, Yuka Rice (ライス由香), from the U.S. Thanks for joining here Yuka, so can you briefly introduce yourself?

Thank you for inviting me to your Buntsu section. My name is Yuka Rice. Driven by my love for video games, I pursued a career as a game translator and have been a freelance game translator for almost 13 years now. I have worked on over 100 game projects covering a wide range of genres, including action, FPS, puzzle, fantasy, sandbox, and roguelike.

A, ha. Thank you so much, Yuka! Wow, 13 years! According to your website description, you’ve “been a part of over 100 game projects.”

Pretty much seasoned in this particular field, and you can cover from RPG to strategy. So, since you are a professional video game translator, can you briefly describe this profession to beginners like us?

Game translators, as the name implies, translate games. Game translation is said to include aspects of all three broad genres of translation: practical, publishing, and video. It involves different types of translation, including UI and narrative as well as voice-overs, subtitles, and marketing. The variety is one of the interesting things about game translation and of course there are so many genres in video games themselves such as racing, sports, fighting, educational, puzzle, adventure, fantasy, and much more.

Thank you so much for clarifying this special field! Hmm, I used to do medical document translation jobs in the past, but that was a typical “boring and mechanical, no writer’s intrusion.” Seems like her translation work really requires flexibility and readability. And, what made you decide to become a freelance video game translator?

I have loved games since I was a child. However, strangely enough, I never thought about working in the game industry when I was a kid. It was only when I decided to become a translator and discovered that there was such a field as game translation that I gradually shifted from translating various fields to focusing solely on games.

I just uploaded a verbal interview with an engineer/gamer in Maryland, and that interview focused on video games in general. As I stated in that interview, my starting point was Famicom (ファミコン=Family Computer=Nintendo Entertainment System’s original name) back in 1986, with the very first “Suumari (スーマリ=Super Mario Brothers).” Then, the last game console I had was Play Station 2 with “Gradius V” back in 2004. Since then, I have been away from video games for long.

Yet, I’m sure a lot of people in my “Generation X=born in the late 60s to 70s” got a significant impact from JRPG (Japanese Role Playing Game). To me, the “Megami Tensei (女神転生=Digital Devil Story, the origin of the Persona (ペルソナ) series)” series was unforgettable. So, what is the greatest moment of being a freelance video game translator?

The most wonderful moment for me as a translator was when I saw my name in the credits of a game for the first time. It happened when I translated the game “Save me Mr. Tako Definitive Edition” with the team from the translation company 8–4. Ever since I started translating games, seeing my name in the credits was something I had always dreamed of. When I actually found my name in the credits, it was a very emotional moment that almost brought tears to my eyes with honor. I’d like to take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude to all the individual translators and companies who raised their voices in the #TranslatorsInTheCredits movement over the past few years.

Yes, we all get thrilled when our names land on professional works out in public. Even in those screenplay contests I challenged for these 3 years, I was thrilled when I got placements in a couple of local contests and my full name was listed as “Quarterfinalist” or “Finalist.” Even if those contests were minor, it’s just a great moment when my real name appears in public in a good way. Oh, do you have any notable work that you accomplished and can brag to us?

In relation to the previous answer, I am proud of the games I have been credited or given permission to mention in recent years, including “Talos Principle 2,” “Kingdom Eighties,” “Mighty Quest: Rogue Palace”, “Raid: Shadow Legends”, “Rogue Legacy 2”, and “Hindsight”. While my name may not be in all of these credits, getting permission to mention them is also a great opportunity to help enrich my portfolio as a translator.

Thanks for sharing those game titles! “The Talos Principle 2 (2023)” received a nearly 10/10 score from the users in Steam’s store. I’m sure Yuka’s work radiantly shines on her resume! Let’s see, what is your advice when pursuing a freelance video game translator?

I want to tell them to keep playing lots of games and to keep translating a lot. And when you play games, try to play in both the source and target languages. This will allow you to understand the terminology and characteristics of sentences in both languages. I also recommend playing various genres. I actually wrote an article on this topic last December, but more specifically on which games I recommend, although the blog is only available in Japanese. You can check it out my blog at:

I see. It sounds pretty much relatable to writers like me. Read a lot and write a lot. A LOT. All genre. All writing style. POV. Bird’s eye view. Multiple angles. I‘d say, in any field, becoming a pro means “to overdose with source materials.” Her article above is in Japanese. Yet, her writing style is pretty formal and “Deeplable.” So, when you encounter an obstacle in your translation work, how do you cope with it?

Since I started translating, I have felt a lot of pressure at the beginning of projects or when translating challenging or difficult games. This pressure is often accompanied by anxiety, leading to sleepless nights. In such situations, the key to getting rid of the anxiety is simply to work hard. I’ve learned from my experience that there’s no other way to cure this kind of anxiety than to just clear my mind, focus on translating and making some progress. Of course, taking breaks when necessary is also important to prevent burnout.

A, ha. Very interesting way to “fight back, push, and shove anxiety.” War to end all wars. Vanquish enemies before they slash you. Yes, we all experience some heavy obstacles that we MUST deal with, mostly in a short amount of time. Like “Zelda: Breath of the Wild (ゼルダの伝説:ブレス・オブ・ザ ・ワイルド, 2017)”’s “Test of Will.” Thanks for sharing your encouraging message. Oh yeah, and folks, our favorite question. So Yuka, Any favorite Japanese anime/manga/drama/film?

I do love a lot of manga and anime. Some of my favorites are “Vinland Saga”, “Gintama”, “The Disastrous Life of Saiki K”, “Slam Dunk”, “JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure”, “Jujutsu Kaisen” and “Golden Kamuy”. I also enjoy shoujo manga such as “Nodame Cantabile” and “Nanatsuya Shinobu no Housekibako”, both by Tomoko Ninomiya. I’m currently 46 years old and I think I know most of the manga from the 80s and 90s from Shonen Jump and Bessatsu Margaret.

Alright, folks. Another “JJK (呪術廻戦)” fan here! “Saiki Kusuo (斉木楠雄のΨ難)”’s anime version was so hilarious that I laughed a lot, thanks to “ultra fast-paced” director Sakurai Hiroaki(桜井弘明, 1958-)’s decent direction. He did “Machikado Mazoku (まちカドまぞく=The Demon Girl Next Door)”’s anime version too, so those who enjoyed Saiki Kusuo will surely enjoy it. Yeah, and Ninomiya-sensei (二ノ宮知子, 1969-)’s solid works. Yuka is one year younger than me, so I’m sure those anime and manga I went through in the 80s and 90s will resonate with her. Oh, hey, it’s a silly question but, what is your favorite food?

Growing up on the coast of Japan, I love seafood. I especially like dark meat fish like mackerel, saury, yellowtail, and amberjack. In winter, I often think about fatty fish and crab dishes. It’s that time of year now and I really miss them.

The new skill I acquired in 2023: how to “Orosu (卸す=disassemble to be edible)” fish and shrimp. And, those Chinese markets close to our house (about 20-minute drive) provide pretty fresh fish just captured from Santa Monica or Redondo Beach. When I was a small kid I didn’t like any marine organisms at all, but now, I pretty much enjoy my foodie life by challenging various types of food. Okay, let’s shift to a different direction. Who are your mentors that you think you learned a lot from?

My mentor is Ms. Hana Ransom, a very experienced translator.

https://twitter.com/HanaKRansom

I learned a lot about translation and the translation industry at her Lone Star Translation Academy. Meeting a wonderful mentor and other fellow translators there gave me confidence and from there I gained the courage to speak out on social media, which led to meeting more fantastic people. I believe that what I learned at her academy created a virtuous cycle in my career.

https://rannohana.net/

I see. Thank you very much for referring another great translator! Indeed, I also got to know a lot of interesting, hardworking, and intelligent people of different ages and ethnicity through Twitter (or Twexxter now?). Because way too many people, especially Japanese, go anonymous and abuse SNS, it’s really important to be responsible for what we publicly share by at least displaying the “real me.” I truly appreciate I got to know Japanese people like Yuka “who exactly know what they do.” Oh, we’re getting close to the end, so let’s wrap up. Any message to those reading this interview?

Yes, first of all I’d like to thank everyone for reading this far. If there are any of you who are interested in games or game translation, I encourage you to keep trying. The game industry can be challenging and sometimes harsh (especially nowadays), but it is a steadily growing industry, and game translation work has been increasing as well. Although it can be tough at times, it is a very rewarding and enjoyable job.

Thank you very much for encouraging the readers to move forward, stay positive, and be patient! I truly agree with Yuka’s insightful comments she shared so far. Finally, what is the most encouraging phrase that you recite when you want to pump up your motivation or crawl out from rock bottom?

As for the most encouraging phrase, I would like to share what I heard from Ms. Hana: “Do not compare yourself with others. If you must compare, compare yourself with your past self.” In the translation industry, there are so many excellent people, and it’s easy to feel down by comparing yourself with others. However, by keeping these words in mind, you can focus on your own growth, sometimes praising yourself and sometimes admonishing yourself. This phrase has comforted me many times.

A, ha! Yes, we Japanese often say, “Uewo Mitara Kiriganai (上を見たらキリがない=looking above, it’s limitless and somewhat intimidating).” Yet, it’s also important for us to “recognize myself and seek for strengths.” Those great people are never satisfied with the status quo, and I would like to be one of them. Thus, I now learn “something” every day. Yeah, together we move on, and thank you very much, Yuka! So folks, if you are interested in Yuka, please follow her account. Truly appreciate your participation in this segment, Yuka! Wish your great success, and we’ll keep in touch.

--

--

Yumio Katsumata (勝又弓雄)

A Japanese writer/interviewer in California. Complementary blog account for my Twitter(https://twitter.com/ymkt0876). Hope you enjoy my longer writings.