The Solace and Science of the Magical Cake

Yummy Pair
3 min readJul 30, 2019

Talk about cake and most of the people around you will be game for it. As luring as the idea of gobbling cake slices can be, the process of making it can be meticulous. I am an avid lover of cakes myself and I feel baking them just makes the world seem better to you in some ways (you can spare me for being hyperemotional in some places). I remember my mom for kitchen appliance repair to shops with father often, which was irksome for me. However now when I look back, I feel that if it were not for those errands, I would not have developed as an expert in handling the ovens while baking.

I am sure there will be many, who harbor the exact sentiments about the gooey-turned-fluffy delight as I do. Hence, I am sharing my experience on how the affair with baking took shape, so that they may relate to my moments for some inspiration.

YummyPair Cake Oven

Buying an Oven

Many ages have passed and many trends started and faded, but I feel the soul of a basic cake has not. Although the icing of the cake and flavors has made some considerable advancement, the base preparation stuck to its roots. Another thing that revolutionized the cake baking in the oven. By the time realized that I want to get into the chemistry of cakes, OTGs were popular and I opted for one. I found its benefits more gratifying than a microwave. I learned to care for its maintenance from appliance repair services in surrey, especially for the cleaning part.

Yummypair oven

In case, you are confused between them, consider the distinguishing features –

  • Baking takes more time in an OTG since works on conventional heatwaves against the microwave technology of a convection oven.
  • Around fifteen minutes of pre-heating is required against 5 minutes of a convection microwave.
  • The power consumption is higher in Convection Microwave Ovens and OTGs consumer reduced power.
  • An OTG can support metals, but not Microwave Ovens.
  • OTG provides the best baking results in terms of uniformity and supersedes microwave in this respect.
Yummypair Oven

The Fuss over Temperature Setting

I always wanted to know what is the big deal about those enigmatic numbers that set the cakes right. I mean why most of the cooking shows taught us to bake the cake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit. The answer lies in the following changes that cakes involve –

  • The fats used in the batter melt when heated
  • The leavening agent or baking powder on reaction with acids produce carbon dioxide or tiny gas bubbles. These are responsible for making cakes rise, as well as, fluffy.
  • Sugar dissolves due to the Maillard Reaction and helps in forming an appetizing brown crust
  • Proteins from egg coagulate and make them firmer
  • Gelatinised starch absorbs water and then increase the viscosity of the dough
  • Evaporation ensues
  • Caramelization occurs and produces esters, lactones, and maltol that lend the essential flavors.

My experience taught me that baking at 300 degrees Fahrenheit gives a fluffier inner crust along with the evenly pale and gummier outer crust.

Eventually, the physicality of the cake changes from a liquid batter to a solid cake structure. Further, post-icing it assumes a different version altogether. Overall, the physical and the chemical transformations bring a heavenly delicacy, which I always perceive as an occult phenomenon. Knowing the accuracy of the ovens helps you in enhancing your culinary skills in many ways. If you feel you have given it all and still cannot get it right, understand that it is time for kitchen appliance repair.

--

--

Yummy Pair

Hi buddy, what up!!! Our self Yummy Pair (Sudipto and Mam) and also foodies and travel freak love to explore new things in the food world. Find us @YummyPair.