Taking Flight

yumna matanat
1 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Due to some health problems, I was not able to attend the last 2 sessions of Amal Academy, so I don’t have anything to share from my experience.

However, the session before that, we had an outdoor activity, which I will share my experience of.

We sat in the ground in a circle and shared some stories from our lives, and how Amal had helped my fellows with their problems.

I learned that people fall down so many times and then pick themselves up anyway, all on their own (Miss Haleema). I learned that people my age work 22 hours a day to support their families and their dreams (Sohaib). I learned that some people my age have to strive so much harder because they don’t have a parent (Mashal). I learned that people so much like me struggle to find their way and their people in life (Hamna). I learned that people stand up for their dreams despite opposition from other people (Ahmad). I learned to take life a little bit easy (Hassaan), and that no matter what hindrances come up, if my Fellows can make it through, then so can I.

--

--