Affable Algeciras — Spain

Yuneth Bandara
3 min readApr 12, 2020

--

On my last visit to Mediterranean, I had the privilege to touchdown on one of the most picturesque towns in Spain. “Algeciras” is A city which lies South of Spain facing the Bay of Gibraltar. Deprived from the burdens of being a prominent city in the Iberian Peninsula, it still possess one of the Biggest Ports in Europe. Geographical location of this port holds a great significance as it lies facing the North African cities such as Tangier and Ceuta.

Working as a Shipmate doesn’t allow you to roam around all the places that you sail. Specially if you are on a Container ship. Algeciras is a very busy mercantile hub as it provides the provisions, spares and stores for many ships including our Vessel. We arrived the port on the Christmas eve and got to know that there won’t be any operation till 26th December.So I Didn’t need a second invitation to dress up and go on a shore leave with high hopes. Besides I was quite fed up with the same kind of food being dished out by our Cookie on a daily basis. What a great chance to try out some gourmet delicacies which the Spanish has to offer!

So I wandered out of the port limits and found a Taxi with a driver who didn’t understand a single word of English. Thanks to some Spanish serials I’ve seen I was able to convey the message to him “Take me to the city”.20 minutes drive and I found my self near a medieval looking church and buildings which depicts a scene from King’s Landing of GOT. One thing that was missing from all this was the people of the city. Everything looked sleepy including the communes and the city center. No food stalls were open while I had to suffice by dining in a “Dominos”. All of this because it was the Christmas holiday,amazed me as Spain is a massive Roman Catholic country compared to my place. I found a place like Negombo or Ja-ela a bit more electric and divine on a Christmas day. Maybe the people in these countries value staying at home with their families more rather than enjoying on the streets, a bit like our Awurudu season.All in all it gave me a great chance to walk along the small streets of algeciras and soak in the facinating ancient architecture . Somewhat with a unfulfilled apetite I started to trudge back home, this time by foot instead of wasting 30 euros for the return trip with a taxi. The very few people I met during my visit,were all well mannered,honest and down to Earth. Amidst the covid-19 pandemic I wish all them beautiful people to be safe and sound and stronger than ever once the mess is cleared. Get well soon Spain !

--

--