Retrospective: a year in Korea

Yunkee
4 min readOct 1, 2020

Exactly one year ago today, I took a flight from Toronto to Seoul. It was a 13-hour flight, but I barely slept. The thought that I was leaving everything behind and starting fresh hit me hard. There was no concrete plan. I was not sure if I made the right call.

A lot has happened since I got off the plane. With such a dramatic change in my life, the past 12 months went by so fast. I thought it’s a good idea to reflect on the past year and look for ways to improve the next 12 months. As a software developer, obviously, I decided to do a personal retrospective to look back.

What went well

Getting a full-time job
The first 4 months were a period of exploration. I had several part-time jobs trying to figure out which one is my true calling. I haven’t actually found what it is yet, but I realized that working at a tech industry is the right fit for me regardless of a role. This is why I joined Toss which has product-oriented teams and the best talent, who work ceaselessly, in the industry.

Adapting to the new environment
In one of my previous Medium stories, I mentioned reverse culture shock and how I found out that I’m not a bilingual. After a few months, I’ve become much more accustomed to a part of Korean culture with which I was not familiar. My Korean got better as well as I picked up terminology in Korean (it’s a bit weird to say this since it’s my first language). I still translate my thoughts into Korean before speaking, but it’s getting faster.

Staying healthy
Physical wellness was never on the top of my priority. COVID-19, however, made me appreciate how important it is. I began to work out regularly and pay attention to my diet. Focusing on physical health has helped reduce stress levels, which have been quite alarming. Moreover, considering that there was no mandatory stay-at-home order in Korea, I’m grateful that I have not been exposed to the coronavirus.

What didn’t go well

Time management outside the office
My working hour increased drastically. I was certainly not prepared for this change at all when I started working again. My time outside of work decreased while my time management skills didn’t change. Naturally, I’ve become less productive when I’m not working.

Handling peer pressure
I’m surrounded by the best talent at work. They know what they’re doing and they work longer than I do. In this kind of environment, you get immense peer pressure that has both positive and negative influences. The pressure has motivated me to work tirelessly while it has made me doubt my performance at the same time. I haven’t found a good way of dealing with its negative aspect.

Pursuit of career
One of my long term goals is becoming a product manager. I got back into software development because of this goal. Although I’ve been gaining experience as a software developer and learning a lot, I have not made enough effort to get closer to my aim. Learning by observing other product managers has its limits.

What actions need to be taken

Prioritizing life outside work
I’ve never thought of resting hard before, but things are different now. I don’t think I’ll get less busier in the foreseeable future. It’s time for me to prioritize my life just like prioritizing Jira tasks in a backlog. It’s one step toward better time management.

Seeking career advice
Although I’ve been working with amazing colleagues, I have not reached out to them to get career advice. I’m sure they would be glad to help me out. It’s just that everyone is always occupied and I’m hesitant to take up their times. There is no 1-on-1 meeting at the current company (and no manager). I miss regular 1-on-1’s because it really helped me stay on track and grow my career. Maybe I can start to have a chat with team members about this and see where it goes.

Keep staying focused
It sounds simple, and yet it’s the most important one. I believe it led me to where I am today. I couldn’t have made a fresh start in Korea if I was not determined. Whether I’m at work or enjoying the weekend, I’d always like to stay away from all sorts of distractions. Having a clear focus lets me determine what I should be doing without too much stress. I need to do more of this.

This story ended up longer than I anticipated. There was a lot to digest before I came up with what to write here. Doing retrospective was a bit tiresome, but it was a rewarding experience. It was a nice chance to go over how my first year back in Korea went. I’m looking forward to what lies ahead.

--

--