How did I start to work on 3D Digital Art?

Yunus Kilic
3 min readAug 5, 2018

--

Ramen House 3D Game Model (Low Poly and Vray)

Dear readers, my name is Yunus Kilic. I work on game and render engines. I was not greadute when I started to work in 3D field 3 years ago. I am 22 years old. I graduated from Dumlupinar University Fine Arts in aug 2017 and I have worked as character artist in Animation Studio since 6 months.

How did I decide ‘’working on 3D?’’

While I was working on 2D works, illustrations, coloring story books,comics and concept art, I was’nt working on 3D 3 years ago.

‘Before Old Gods’ 31 Aug 2016

All the time I was interested in 3D because I work in a full time job. I miss draw , I had to leave.

I want to finding a job about Videogames, I want to create a videogame so I learned about creating game assets, modeling, UW Uv, texturing, optimization for game engines, LOD’s and so oni basically most things need for games.

Because Artstation have idea holders, art directors, senior and lead artists and more, I observe about game environments works on Artstation everyday. It really improved me. Looking on works is instructive for you.
I was wondering ‘how to create them?’, I was searching and learning. This was very hard for me because I haven’t had any support around me about 3D.

I did not know English when I started 3D, this process was compelling for me. I am learning English recently and I decided to write about 3D to improve my English.

Where did I start?

LowPoly game environment on 3DsMax (Vray)

First I learned only hard surface modeling, this was a good choice but
‘What do I want?’ is important question for yourself. Because goin on an unknown road is wrong way and it’s very dangerous so you don’t know ‘what do you do?’.

After I worked hard surface modeling a period of time and I noticed ‘I want to texturing for my models.’ I was using 3D’s Max for modeling and Unwrapping after that I learned Substance Painter and Designer for Texturing. Because I need materials for texturing, I learned creating materials on Substance Designer, but Substance Painter helps you with ready materials. When ready materials are inadequate, you need to create materials.

SD is work node system

First I have tried texturing on organic model for a design contest. My learning process is very complicated. I have already talked about my reasons for working on 3D. Don’t worry, This is so much hard thougt, It is fun to learn.

SO…

I will talk about my process with details for you in later stories. I hope to it is helpful and instructive.

I’m sorry for my English. Maybe I have mistakes but I hope to be better.

your’s respectfully…

--

--