Workview: Reflections on what work means to me

Yunzhe Zhou
2 min readJan 19, 2018

--

I’m working towards cultivating a job where it is a reflection of the lifestyle that I want, as inspired by my 12 personal projects in 12 months. By thinking about what work means to me, I can see where there can be adjustments made to align it with more of what I value and care about.

Why work?

  • I work because it’s the societal expectation, I work because I haven’t found nor created an alternative yet. I work because I need something to do with my time. I work because it sustains me. I work because I’d like to get better at something

What’s work for?

  • For the longest time, work has been a source of payment, financial stability. After realizing how much I can live on (I don’t get paid much) and reframing thoughts around stability tokens like food and housing, I’d like to live a life where work overlaps with play hence enjoying the work that I’m doing

What does work mean?

  • Work means an exchange of time and effort for compensation.
  • I’d like work to mean “What projects are you working on?” and “What are you currently excited about?” and “What are you doing to impact the world?”

How does it relate to the individual, others, society?

  • Individual: I’d like for my work to be meaningful and fulfilling; I want to value what I’m doing with my time
  • Others: I’d like for my work to help others
  • Society: I’d like it for my work to have a lasting impact

What defines good or worthwhile work?

  • Worthwhile work is something that I would be doing even if I wasn’t getting paid to do it; it is worthwhile and good if I have intrinsic motivation because I really believe in the mission or it is genuinely fulfilling for me

What does money have to do with it?

  • Money makes it foggier to navigate: lack of money may make the work feel less meaningful, more money may make the work seem more worthwhile
  • We all have to make money so sometimes that need is prioritized over wants like meaningful work

What do experience, growth, and fulfillment have to do with it?

  • These factors mean a lot to me! I really value experiences and personal growth, so it’s important that not only I am learning, but I am learning in areas I care about, thus leading to fulfillment

Inspired by Designing Your Life

Update as of 2018: thanks to this exercise and doing monthly projects, I’ve now created the work that I love at One Month Projects!

--

--

Yunzhe Zhou

Designing life through monthly action plans. For how you you can get started on a side project, get the toolkit here: bit.ly/12sideprojects