5 Steps to Improve Your Mental Wellbeing

Yuqing Wang
3 min readAug 13, 2024

--

Are you often stressed out? Then do these!

👉 𝐒𝐞𝐭 𝐔𝐩 𝐘𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐌𝐨𝐫𝐧𝐢𝐧𝐠 𝐌𝐢𝐧𝐝𝐟𝐮𝐥𝐧𝐞𝐬𝐬 𝐑𝐨𝐮𝐭𝐢𝐧𝐞!

Here is my routine, as an example:
✅ 20 min walking outdoor + gentle stretch
✅ 20 min green tea ritual + daily planning
✅ 20 min sitting meditation + deep breathing
without any digital devices!

👉 𝐃𝐨 𝐑𝐞𝐠𝐮𝐥𝐚𝐫 𝐃𝐢𝐠𝐢𝐭𝐚𝐥 𝐅𝐚𝐬𝐭𝐢𝐧𝐠

Here is what I usually do, as examples:
✅ 10 hrs Fasting / day: von around 10:30 p.m. to 8:30 a.m. the next day
I usually turn off my phone and laptop 1 hour before sleeping and turn them on when I start to work on the next day.

✅ 35 hrs Fasting at weekend: von Saturday evening to Monday morning
I usually do not use my laptop and rarely use my phone (except showing my Deutschland Ticket, if I travel 😂 ) during the whole sunday.

✅ 10 days Fasting / year
Since last year’s vipassana meditation experiences, I began to love the silent life without digital devices, so I decided to do a 10-day retreat every year.

👉 𝐃𝐞𝐯𝐞𝐥𝐨𝐩 𝐇𝐞𝐚𝐥𝐭𝐡𝐲 𝐑𝐞𝐥𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩 𝐰𝐢𝐭𝐡 𝐘𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐏𝐡𝐨𝐧𝐞

I can’t help but keep emphasising the importance of managing your usage of digital devices. Here is my relationship with my phone, as an example:

✅ 24/7 in silence mode
I usually ask people to write me Emails or leave messages on Whatsapp and LinkedIn, I check it at least 3 times per day.

✅ 2 metres away when I focus
I block my time for DEEP WORK (coaching, reading, thinking, writing) and DEEP CONNECTION (networking, reaching out to people)

✅ No short videos apps, like TikTok
I am not personally against TikTok, I just do not like those short videos to make my mind fragmented. I know I get addicted easily to it, so I need to cut it completely off from my life.

👉 𝐊𝐞𝐞𝐩 𝐒𝐢𝐦𝐩𝐥𝐞 𝐑𝐞𝐥𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧𝐬𝐡𝐢𝐩𝐬 𝐰𝐢𝐭𝐡 𝐏𝐞𝐨𝐩𝐥𝐞

Besides overuse of digital devices, what often stresses us is our relationship with people. I made many mistakes and suffered a lot from it previously, so in recent years, i only keep simple relationships, for examples:

✅ With friends: be friends with people who we give each other the space that we need and respect each other’s boundaries.

✅ With people in business: collaborate with people who we appreciate each other’s time, efforts and expertise. Work with people who inspire me. And business is business.

✅ With romantic partner: no open relationships, no friends with benefits. Reliable husband candidate or bye.

👉 𝐃𝐞𝐯𝐞𝐥𝐨𝐩 𝐒𝐮𝐬𝐭𝐚𝐢𝐧𝐚𝐛𝐥𝐞 𝐒𝐞𝐥𝐟-𝐂𝐚𝐫𝐞 𝐌𝐢𝐧𝐝𝐬𝐞𝐭𝐬

Remember, you must put yourself first, then you are able to take care of others.

✅ Rest, when you are not totally stressed out

Maintaining the roof, when it is not rainy. Allowing yourself to rest is not about being lazy, it is about loving and being responsible for yourself.

✅ Feel free to say NOs to people and things, when you can not handle or do not have interest

Many of us tend to take on many tasks at the same time, because we do not want to disappoint others or we do not want to miss opportunities. But our energy is not enough for it. So we burn ourselves out.

✅ Self-care is not a lady thing, it’s for everyone.

I have seen many men tend to think that self-care and wellness are for women, not for them, because they are strong and resilient, they do not need such a thing. So they refuse things like yoga, meditation, massage, soft music, scented candles and so on.

P.S. As an entrepreneurship coach, I do care A LOT about the mental wellbeing of people. In my opinion, if one is often stressed out, he/she can not have enough mental space and energy to develop their business well and in a sustainable way. Business is a long game.

Therefore, we integrate an important module called Your mental wellbeing matters, in our 8-weeks bootcamp focusing on helping you develop healthy mindsets and habits for your mental wellbeing.

--

--

Yuqing Wang

Helping entrepreneurs who lack of clear directions find the most suitable 'You-Your Business' fit, by connecting deeply within yourself and with your customers.