‘I can not read all these German laws about business and tax regulation, so I do not know how to start my own business.’

Yuqing Wang
2 min readJul 12, 2024

--

My German neighbour, Thomas, told me this few days ago.

I totally understand his concern, it is really annoying to handle all the paperwork. However, we can overcome those obstacles as long as we are determined to start the journey.

Look:

I am a foreigner in Germany who do not speak perfect German and Germany is famous for its bureaucracy, but still I take the time and give the effort to read, learn, communicate with all these institutes (IHK, trade office, tax office, health insurance……), make mistakes and correct them.

Plus I do not have family here, which means I do not have any relationships and resources to support me from the very beginning.

Plus I am a woman entrepreneur. (Well, we are making progress in gender equality, but we all know that in business, unspokenly, women are usually not treated equally as men. That is just the fact.)

Plus I am an asian woman with <160cm height. People in fitness tend to undervalue me at the first sight. Only after one session, they begin to know my power.

I am not here to show off, I just want to say that I have so many disadvantages compared with an average German man, but I can still start my entrepreneurship. That means almost everyone can do it, theoretically.

So let’s stop complaining about these external factors that we can not control, let’s focus our time and energy on embracing the challenges and enjoying them.

--

--

Yuqing Wang

We help entrepreneurs embrace your authenticity, tell your authentic stories and grow your business authentically