People do not pay you because you need money, people pay you because they can get something valuable from you

Yuqing Wang
2 min readAug 22, 2024

--

Few days ago, I wrote an article about how important it is to have a WHY, to have a clear WHY and to communicate it clearly.

Afterwards a person wrote to me that his WHY is survival for now……

It reminds me of an important mindset shift that I have learnt since I started my own entrepreneurial journey.

Previously as an employee, I tended to think: ‘An employer pays me because I have studied, because I have knowledge in X, I have working experiences in Y, and I have skills in Z.’

‘I apply for a job and work for an employer, because I need money.’

However, since my entrepreneurship, I begin to realise that people pay me because I bring them values:

Fitness studios pay me, not because I have done a couple of trainings in Yoga, meditation, fitness and dancing, but because I can give excellent courses, which make their customers healthy and happy, so they can earn more money.

My coaching customers pay me, not because I have done a coaching training and an online MBA program, but because I can help them connect within themselves and with their customers deeply, change their self-sabotage mindsets and habits, so that they live a happier life and earn money.

Now it is clear for me that I get paid because I deliver sth valuable to people and I begin to communicate in this way. However, for many employees, their mindsets are still in the mode of ‘I work for sb, because I need money’.

Let’s wake up and face reality! No one pays you because you need money, people only pay you because they get sth valuable from you. That’s harsh, but that’s the truth and reality!

So start with communicating what value you can bring to people, instead of ‘I need to survive with your money.’ Let’s see what can happen!

--

--

Yuqing Wang

We help entrepreneurs embrace your authenticity, tell your authentic stories and grow your business authentically