‘We must encourage more women working in the field of AI, what do you think?’ I was asked by an interviewer at a leadership event.

Yuqing Wang
2 min readAug 20, 2024

--

‘We should let each individual be him/herself. If she is a materials for AI, she should become a data scientist. If she is a material for Yoga, she should be a yoga teacher.’ I answered.

Nowadays many people are getting crazy with science, technology, AI and these subjects are worshipped like new gods. And we are ignoring and forgetting to respect who we are as each individual human-being.

A short story of mine:

Before I was born, my parents wanted a boy. They prepared everything for a boy: clothes, name, education plan and excitement…

However I came out, not as expected. After a period of panic and chaos, they accepted reality. But except for changing the clothes and name, they did not change the attitude: They want a boy. So my mum often told me that I, as a girl, needed to prove to them that I was better than a boy.

So since childhood, I internalized those voice and made many decisions just to prove myself and get love. I chose science and IT, because social and cultural subjects were too girly, I thought, well, as society was telling me.

Along the journey, it was very painful for me because I could not face, let alone integrate my feminine nature. I forced myself to worship all masculine traits: being assertive, being aggressive, taking actions, pushing through…

Only when I began my self-discovery journey, I became more and more aware of that issue and began to embrace and integrate both Yin (feminine) and Yang (masculine) energy inside of me.

I make decisions by connecting with who I really am, instead of proving to anyone. Only then, I feel whole and complete, and people from outside sense my authenticity and genuineness, everything else becomes easier and natural.

Do you embrace and connect with both Yin and Yang energy as who you are? If you are struggling with it, we should talk!

--

--

Yuqing Wang

Helping entrepreneurs who lack of clear directions find the most suitable 'You-Your Business' fit, by connecting deeply within yourself and with your customers.