ComfyUI : Image Restoration with SUPIR and CCSR

Yushan777
5 min readApr 11, 2024

Recently the Custom Nodes for SUPIR had been re-written by kijai. notably with the SUPIR Stage 1 process separated. The results I was getting the first time didn’t quite match what I was seeing when running SUPIR standalone. So I thought I’d give things another try. In addition, I wanted to try for myself the CCSR + SUPIR combination that was looked into by user mocmocmoc81 on reddit where his priority was fidelity first, then quality. In other words how faithful is the restoration/upscale is to the original source image, (which can stray if too much re-imagining occurs).

I wanted to focus on restoring images with a lot of lost information. I didn’t focus on the upscaling beyond the initial jump from the source resolution to approximately 1600 x 1600 (for the square images). Once an image is restored or in this case, detail is reintroduced or reimagined, upscaling something with a lot of information is rather easy.

Source Image 320 x 320
CCSR vs SUPIR

Both do a good job maintaining the subject’s facial appearance but it is clear that CCSR…

--

--

Yushan777

No Click-Baity stuff! This is just my own journal so I can remember how I did stuff 🙂