Bill Gates Wears a Casio?

Yes, you read that right…

Yu-Shen
3 min readSep 29, 2019

I really like watches! I can’t afford to purchase most of the watches that I like right now, but there’s really no harm in dreaming right?

All I really need is a clearly crafted plan to work towards, then I would be able to own my first piece: the Nomos Tangente.

Since I lack ambition and discipline of any sort, the plan had to work around these fatal character flaws. So over the past year, I have been attempting to plant an idea in my wife’s mind to get me a Nomos Tangente.

The detailed inception-like plan involved bombarding her with photos of the watch through Instagram, walking past watch stores that carry Nomos Glashutte watches when we go out, and talking about the intricacies of the watch’s movement and how amazing the Tangente is in terms of value for money.

To cut the long story short, I haven’t made much progress on this front. She still doesn’t seem to understand why a watch that basically just tells the time, costs so much.

The final nail in the coffin came in the form of an article that I chanced upon and (stupidly) showed her. It was an article about Bill Gates and his watch of choice. This article has singlehandedly killed any hope I had of ever convincing her that luxury watches are an investment.

--

--

Yu-Shen

Strategy consultant by day, struggling writer by night. I am passionate about self-improvement, productivity, and most importantly, food!