CRITICAL MAKING CLASS

3D Printing on Fabric

Final Project Proposal

Yvonne Danyluck
4 min readMar 23, 2020

After a quick intro into critical making last Fall, I elected a class focusing on Parametric Product Design. I wanted to dive deeper into McNeel Rhinoceros, with its extension Grasshopper, to design physical products. I also wanted to gain a better understanding of the process from concept to digital design to physical manufacturing.

“This class will explore the product development process through algorithmic modeling strategies, computational design, and additive manufacturing.”

A grasshopper definition showing algorithmic tubes

More specifically, we took a leap into parametric design- “a process based on algorithmic thinking that enables the expression of parameters and rules that, together, define, encode and clarify the relationship between design intent and design response.” Wikipedia. In plain English, parametric design is design that occurs in the confines on certain parameters. Examples include high-rises, cars, bicycles- anything that shares the same characteristics but comes in slight variations.

In earlier posts I explored 3D printing on fabric- both of which remain in the research and testing phase. Each experiment was valuable in what it revealed in its “failure” to achieve the desired result.

“Attaching” the fabric in place and printing onto it. The heat of the print bed and the molten filament caused adhesives of the band-aids and tape to melt. Essentially, a “good experiment”.

For my final project this term, I’ll try 3D printing on fabric once again, but this time, in order to create a parametric art installation. I’ll iterate on the simple tube, printing each variation onto a separate panel of fabric. I’ll then sew each strip together length-wise and re-enforce with boning to hold its shape upright. I’ll then hang the assembled installation from the ceiling away from any walls, so that it can be viewed from both sides.

Sketch in Procreate

I’ve done some tinkering and planning. In theory this should work. But I also know that research is only a small part of my new-found knowledge. I predict that most of this project will come together in doing, experimenting, re-calibrating mid-course. I’ll also need the guidance of RJ Duran, the indefatigable instructor extra-ordinanaire.

In this below experiment, I learned that printing side-panels in which to attach the fabric in place is a waste of time and resources. RJ suggested I take one set of pre-fabricated wood or metal bars, such that the measurements are predictable and the pieces are re-usable for each leg of the print.

Though the Rhino definitions are simple enough, I need to find the ideal fabric and then the ideal width and weight of the tubes, such that the print won’t melt the fabric during printing or pucker and cinch the fabric when hanging vertically. This will take a good amount of experimenting. I’ll quickly add that this process is taking place in the height of the Covid-19 pandemic, making it challenging to get into the lab while towing my small children with me.

Experiments in tubes: Rhino with Grasshopper extension

I also need to do a bit more digging to see if there are similar examples in the wider community. I was encouraged by the claim that this hasn’t been attempted before- though, as any of my colleagues would attest, it’s often better to trade originality for wisdom of those gone before. Standing on the shoulders of anyone is better than on your own two feet. Still, the prospect of reaching for un-chartered territory is thrilling. I look forward to the new learnings, and the sense of satisfaction in reaching my goal. So here goes…

--

--

Yvonne Danyluck

Trilingual, systems-navigator and hybrid identity. Performing at the fulcrum on functionality and delight to craft people-serving products. This is who I am.