Critical Making Final

Modeling 3D Tubes

To look like The Flatirons

Yvonne Danyluck
2 min readApr 11, 2020

At this stage in the final project, I’ve done numerous tests , and have come to the conclusion that I’ll need to use the dual extrusion function of the Ultimaker 3- one extruder with PLA to print the tubes and the other extruder with PVA- a water soluble filament that will print the supports. Because the fabric was ripping when I removed the supports, this seems like the logical next step. I’ve placed an order through Amazon and I’m now waiting for the delivery.

Sketch of the final whole: dimensions, seams, accessories.

Next I started designing the tubes based on a tutorial I found online. I found both a profile sketch of the Flatirons in Boulder and a topographical map. I imported it into Rhino and was able to trace the side and the top views.

This, so far, is not working to my liking… While the line looks the mountains, the tubes themselves don’t translate into a good likeness.

In addition, I need to have precise command over the grid dimensions in Rhino, and so far it’s eluding me.

--

--

Yvonne Danyluck

Trilingual, systems-navigator and hybrid identity. Performing at the fulcrum on functionality and delight to craft people-serving products. This is who I am.