To my forever love

Yo-Yo Whitted
3 min readJun 10, 2023

A passionate poem to a very patiently impatient lover

Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

I’m in love with you

you don’t believe me

you think I’m bating you

you think I’m using you

you think I’m ungrateful

and all of those may be true sometimes

If you want the truth, I’ll tell you.

I’ll lay everything out for you

If you promise me

You will see me as I see you

Irreplaceable

My love is fickled

and sometimes I bite

which is something you seem to like

I don’t mean to be unkind

I love you like a wine-o loves wine

This is lame and i’m to blame because I’m not paying attention

because I don’t care

Because this is not that serious anyway

I mean

this don’t even have to rhyme — like really

It’s All about you, my love

The way you hold me

The way you grab me

The way you squeeze me

With those big, firm man hands

You melt me

I had to change my sheets!

Why you act like I don’t Love you?

Why you be ackin funny?

The way we fall into one another’s eyes

I get lost in your bronze windows

And the ecstasy of you touches kisses hugs

kisssssssssses

On both o’ my lips

Then I want you to walk behind me and

Kiss me on my neck

And

Breeeeeeeeathe on my neck

I remind you how gorgeous you

And you brush it off

You and pulcritudes

Your visage

You and those cinnamon brown eyes

Moist since the first day I met you

When you looked at me like there was spinach in my teeth

Those beers

My friend

That night all night in the rain laughin’ about everything and nothin’

You are my person

And that’s Hard

‘Cuz i know I’m a handful

But you get on my nerves sometimes too

I just take the hood with the bad

And give you grace

And honor you

Although you believe me

Ungrateful

I am grateful for you

You’ve been There for me since I’ve Known you

So

Next time i call you gorgeous

Receive that shit

Next time I love on you

Relax and let me love you

You deserve it.

First I must give credit to The Erykah Badu for one of my favorite songs: “Kiss Me on My Neck” featured in this poem. Lovers, listen to your lovers. Even if they’re lying, benefit from what you hear without taking a fading of love personally — life is a series of lessons if we are willing to learn them.

Photo by Author, “In Anacostia”

If you enjoy my work, please comment, ask questions, follow and/recommend me. Help a sista out – I fell asleep in the library again reading Joe Turner’s Come and Gone by August Wilson.

--

--

Yo-Yo Whitted

Blackity Black Black Mama | Literary Scholar | Pedagogical Expert | Ardent Writer | Innovative Academic | Daughter of Alkebulan | Future Resident of Rwanda