Project of SDMS (Social Distance Maintaining System)

Yang Danny
7 min readJul 28, 2020

Original Ideas of Social Distancing

Long motorbike that keep social distance
A mask that help keep social distance
Hats and skirts that keep safe social distance
System that tells people not to sit one by one

Finally, I followed the idea that related to Arduino and Ultrasound Detector. (and Social Distancing)

First Iteration

Design of First Iteration
3D Modeling From www.thingiverse.com
Views of First Iteration
Application Video of First Iteration

A. Introduction

The first iteration is a distance detector with a warning buzzer. It could be used in a queue for a group of people, and the device will indicate whether people are in a proper distancing.

Red light+ Buzzer: within 80 cm, usually a dangerous distance

Yellow light: more than 80 cm but less than 150 cm, an improper distance

Green light: less than 150 cm, a safe distance

B. Ian’s Suggestion for Next Generation

1. Make it wearable, like a necklace, or something on your mask

C. Reflections & Plans

1. This iteration is not very practical, because it cannot detect for many people.

2. I think that it might be a good idea on one’s hat, and could use some servo motors to help detect.

3. Necklaces might be kind of difficult (I have a lot of Arduino stuffs which are very heavy), and I could not design a mask (Hard for me to design the curves of a mask) right away by myself.

4. Maybe I can design the 3D modeling by myself and print it out.

Second Iteration

3D Modeling
Views of Second Iteration
Application Video of Second Iteration

A. Introduction

The ultrasound detector is turning around to detect if there is any person in front of you. If there is a person too close to you, this detector will slow down and have a “beep” noise to warn you.

B. Ian’s Suggestion for Next Generation

1. It’s uncomfortable to have it on user’s head. (Consider user’s comfort)

2. If it’s a sunny day, the device will be very hot if user puts it on his head.

3. Mask might be a good choice, and I can utilize precedented works to help with my project.

4. Be aware of the size, it should be small so that it will be convenient.

5. How it looks really matters.

6. When downloading from the website, I need to download the STL files.

C. Reflections & Plans

1. The “beep” noise isn’t that clear: for the future generation, I could make it speak louder next time.

2. Find a mask online and make some addition to it — Let Arduino and the ultrasound device be the addition to the mask.

Third Iteration

3D Modeling of Arduino and Ultrasound Device
3D Modeling of a Mask From www.thingiverse.com
Front and Side View of Third Iteration
Application Video of Third Iteration

A. Introduction

The Ultrasound Device under the mask could detect for the social distance. The black which suspends in front of the user contains buzzer and Arduino r3, warning people of dangerous social distance.

B. Ian’s Suggestion for Next Generation

1. Synthesize Arduino, buzzer, and Ultrasound together.

2. The hanging box is too big, which is not comfortable for the user.

3. Next time try not to use bread board so that the size of the whole device might reduce. Use a soldering iron to connect wires.

4. Try to have good packaging, with all the wires and Arduino stuff.

5. the way it connects to user’s head could be changed (about that blue ropes)

C. Reflections & Plans

1. The whole thing is indeed very loose. I’ll take the fifth suggestion.

2. Maybe I can directly add something to the mask and print it out together so that everything will be synthesized together.

3. Try to connect by soldering. Maybe Arduino and battery are on different sides of the mask.

Fourth Iteration

3D Modeling of Fourth Iteration
Views of Fourth Iteration
How to Construct it
How to Construct it
What It Looks like

A. Ian’s Suggestion for Next Generation

1. Side may not be the best place of a mask; I can think of merging everything into that mask.

2. Application Videos needed.

3. Soldering Techniques on YouTube

4. “How to deal with Mesh” on YouTube.

B. Reflections & Plans

1. Make everything into that mask.

2. Try using SolidWorks to add something on the mask.

3. print a new mask.

4. watch videos on YouTube.

Fifth Iteration

3D Modeling of Fifth Iteration

A. Reflections & Plans

1. I cannot put into the battery, I need to redesign the size of it.

2. if openings are at the side, it might look better.

Final Iteration

3D Modeling of Final Iteration

A. Brief Introduction

SDMS aims to maintain a safe social distance between people. It is placed on a 3D printed face mask and warns the wearer if someone gets too close to him/her, so the wearer could adjust his/her social distance to be safe from coronavirus, which typically contaminates people within 1.5 meters.

B. Principle

There’s an ultrasound sensor beneath the face mask, and the sensor would tell how much distance you have between the person in front. If the distance is within 1.5 meters, the buzzer inside the box will make a sound with a frequency of 800Hz to warn the wearer.

C. Reflection Upon SDMS

First, I would like to express my gratitude toward professor Ian for tutoring me in this project. By Ian’s assistance, I am no longer a rookie in designing. I came to know that iterations are the keys to a design, by which our products will become more comfortable and acceptable.

It is essential for me to know the concept of iterations because, without this idea, I even couldn’t progress. It also occurs to me that iterations are not only limited to designing itself, but also applicable to many other subjects, including proposing a physics theory, and what underlies them is the idea of promoting your thinking in every minute.

In my project with professor Ian, I always started on a very simple idea without concrete modeling. Then, I will always think about 3–5 ideas related to the original one, which is called divergent thinking. I would usually obtain different directions for further development on it. Next, it comes to the process of convergent thinking which will help me figure all the benefits/disadvantages of each idea, and then I would synthesize them into one project.

This whole progress is impressive to me, and I’ve known them and experienced them with Ian. I believe that I could apply this technique in future design.

D. Acknowledgment

Thanks to Ian’s instructions on this project.

Thanks for Gladius’s 3D model of the face mask.

URL: https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4222563

E. Pictures and Videos

Views
Pictures Outside
Video of Final Iteration

--

--