Prototyping Series 2: Laser Cut Laptop Stand

Grace Zhu
3 min readOct 22, 2019

--

Background

For my second prototyping project, I explored laster cutting, designed and built a laptop stand with chipboard. I went through measuring, sketching, building the cut in the Rhino software, laser-cut and assembled it.

Final prototype testing 15 and 25-degree angles

Design Goal

  • Cut from a single sheet of 18" x 24" chipboard
  • Use no glue, tape, or other fastening materials to assemble
  • Able to be dissembled into pieces that can be stored flat and transported
  • Support the laptop in two different angles

Ideation

Some sketches from ideation

I decided to make my laptop stand support two different angles — 15 and 25 degrees, to accommodate different user needs in different environments. I explored a few ideas through sketching and selected one with the firmest structure because the chipboard needs to support the weight of the laptop.

Prototype

I started by creating a single triangle shape on Rhino. I tested the shape of the hook a few times, to make sure it’s stable. After that, I decided to build it with five triangles and seven rectangle pieces to connect the triangles, to give full support to the laptop.

All the parts of this stand
Assembled lap top stand

Shown as the top view below, I made the middle three triangle pieces more spaced than the other because I wanted to make sure the heater isn’t blocked by the stand.

Top view of the laptop stand

Next Steps

My laptop stand is stable on the verticle plane, but it shifts left to right due to the thiness of the materials. This issue made it possible to flatten the whole piece. But while standing, the stand should be stable in any direction. Thus, I need to create small locks on the corners to make sure it doesn’t shift left to right.

Reflection

It is true that laser-cut might be limited because of the material. However, it’s a lot more precise on the shape and form compared to paper prototypes. Compared to the 3D printing prototype, it’s a lot less costly to make changes. I enjoy making laser-cut projects.

--

--