Infographic: What it Really Takes to be a Graphic Designer

Zack Kampf
2 min readOct 22, 2017

--

My aspiration of being a professional graphic designer is not one that I’ve had for a long time, but it is a very real and current dream of mine. Since I’m very OCD about design elements I thought it would be perfect to create an infographic on how to be a good designer. Creating this inforgraphic not only allowed me to share information about something I am interested in, but it also provided me an opportunity to learn more about the profession I am so interested in becoming.

I learned several new things while creating this infographic and made sure to include the information I was already aware of. I already knew that being a designer requires the ability to take criticism easily as there will always be people who critique your work. Being a graphic designer also requires a good portfolio since most employers will want to see your past work in order to verify that you are good at what you do. Furthermore, its also imperitive that graphic designers have good writing skills since they will sometimes be required to write copy for the projects they are designing for. It is obvously important for graphic designers to also posses good drawing skills since that is what the will be doing almost 99% of the time. Lastly, a really good graphic designer never stops seeking inspiration since inspiration can come from anywhere. The ability to become inspired anytime or anywhere can really improve someone’s ability to create something new and that is precisely what a graphic designer does.

Infographic Link: https://www.canva.com/design/DACkhDdsGwQ/share?role=EDITOR&token=_H_yXJQX5qEhBFR1ChZCZw&utm_content=DACkhDdsGwQ&utm_campaign=designshare&utm_medium=link&utm_source=sharebutton

--

--