What I Learned From Running My First Half-Marathon

Zack Miller
4 min readFeb 14, 2015

--

A lot of my close friends know that I ran a half-marathon in 2014, but as a very vocal social poster, I never posted that I was on the mission to run my first 13.1, my first half marathon or any running race for that matter. The race was the inaugural by J&A in Norfolk, the Harbor Lights Half, and to make matters worse, it was in November, just days before Turkey Day.

I learned about the race through several friends who are big runners, and likely the one person to share the race was The Fit Petite’s own Jess Horton, who mentioned the race on her profile the day it was announced.

I’ve done the fad from here to here, Crossfit, Juicing, the Burpee Challenge, but for the better part of the last 13 years, I’ve just been really out of shape and haven’t seen many days that looked like my All State Swimming Days.

I trained for four months, started a business-fitness podcast and actually (maybe) started to enjoy running. But what did I learn about the journey and specifically the day of event?

1. Anything is Possible. You just have to want it enough.

I really didn’t want to do the race, but a co-worker, Jeremy Johnson, said I couldn’t do it.

I hate being told I can’t do something. So, in typical Zack Miller fashion, I went all in, signed up and found a trainer.

2. Find the tools to make the job better.

I thought of this run in business terms, why? because it’s what I do best and when I could take my business life and look at the run as a venture I knew I would have a stronger chance to succeed.

I bought new shoes, socks and even started tracking my progress.

Several times, the tools I’d use would crash on me or would give inaccurate results. When this happened, I got rid of them and found something right. Trial and Error happens.

No Excuses.

3. Don’t set a metric goal?

Why, because when something is your first at something, the last thing you want to do is try to do something you have no idea what the standard or base should be, rather, just set the goal to do it.

In my case, I wanted to finish, which later we will find out how that went. So, in business, if you are new, the goal should be to find your first customer.

Note: Once you’ve done something once, I think its a important to set a goal metric. Example, last week I sold $1,000 in sales, this week I want to improve so my goal is $1,001. Or if you do one race, the next time you do the race (if there is a next time ☺) try to beat your previous time. Simple.

4. Struggle is a real damn thing.

But it’s how you adapt and get through, which will determine what type of person you are. In my case, many many many runs sucked. Couldn’t speed up or get through, but if it meant I walked through it didn’t matter.

In business, it may be a rough day, week, month or year. You have to be positive and push though, just like in running. If you want something, fight for it. And find ways to break through. What doesn’t kill you, WILL make you stronger.

5. Don’t let the world tell you no.

I never ran in the rain, why? Well I skipped those days. And I think it hurt me. Push through when something isn’t as easy as it should be. You will learn from it and know how to get through it the next time you encounter it.

Ever have a meeting with someone or an interview and you bombed it? Do you know why? Learn from your lessons or mistakes.

6. On game day, don’t try new things.

4 months in, I thought I was pretty ready for the race. I had run 10 miles and my legs were ready. But, come that morning, I changed things up. For only the second or third time I drank water during the race (and a lot of it) and I wore an outfit I never wore before (I can’t believe I’m talking about clothing). If you can and I encourage you to find the way to control this, literally go through the steps many times before hand.

I do a handful of speaking engagements in my line of work and sometimes I wing it and sometimes I practice. The times I practice are the times I absolutely crush it. Why, I get through the silly kinks and know where I need to improve.

At the end of the day, we have a lot more control over our lives, businesses or fitness than we think, so control it and paint the scenario.

I did finish the race, it was literally hell and some of the most pain I’ve ever been in my life, physically. But, there was no doubt in my mind, ever. EVER! That I was not going to finish.

Have you accomplished something you never though possible? I’d love to hear from you, either below or email me.

Additionally, I’d love to send you a note once a week on the hacks I use to get through life. Yes, it’s legal. Simply Sign up Here.

--

--

Zack Miller

Get my thoughts on business, marketing and getting attention every Monday morning at 10:13am via email at https://zackmillersays.com/newsletter/