Review of Digital Experience Design class this semester

zerun Wang
3 min readMay 2, 2016

--

Time flies, this semester will come to the end, I would like to review the class of this semester which I learned a lot.

At the beginning of this semester, I was panic. I didn’t have any background knowledge of this field , I was afraid of I couldn't catch up with class progress. However, I got a good teacher whom always calm and patient, his unique way of teaching let me feel memorable. Not only I learned a lot of UX knowledge from him, and also I learned team work and how to critique works which I think is most important to me.

Onboarding & Task flow

From this phase, I learned if you want to design a good product, you should analysis good existed product first and then use the helpful information to design your own product. First of all, for example, if you want to design a app or website, you should figure out what its onboarding process, such as setup, registration and introduction. After taking advantage from these processes, you can start to think about your design. During your design process, you will also need to do something, such as, interview your audience and get their demands. And then organize information to make a affinity diagram, so that you can view the information clearly. Finally, according to the information you collected, you can start to create your feature maps, wireframes and UI design. The most valuable thing that I learned from this class was Professor taking us to go through these process slowly, make sure each of us could understand every process clearly.

Critique

I am not a outgoing person, I used to keep silence in front of group of people even in class. I knew it is bad, if you want to learn something you need to communicate with someone, but you know, it is my personality, I cannot change it easily. However, I concern more about my grades. when professor said we should critique each of classmates’ group and if you care about your grades, you should talk, I was panic again. I was thinking, what should I do? I have to talk, I want to get good grades to prove the good work of this semester. So I pushed myself to speak, even my English is bad, but I think it is a good start. If you enter to the society someday, you should talk with people, Such as peers, colleagues and clients. So I think I will change more after taking this class.

Overall, These are what I learned this semester, I think this class not only teach me the UX knowledge, but also teach the way to learn something in some points. I feel lucky that I take this class with good teacher. Thanks.

--

--