Zaituni Njovu
2 min readNov 8, 2018

ZAITUNI NJOVU — MY EXPERIENCE AS A SAFE SISTER UNDER INTERNEWS AND DEFEND DEFENDERS.

My name is Zaituni Njovu from Tanzania, a Digital Security Trainer at Zaina Foundation. I participated into Safe Sister training in 2017 conducted by Internews USA and Defend Defenders Uganda in Kampala Uganda.

During the training I learned many new skills about Digital Security include Encryptions, Password,Password manager, Online Safety, Mobile Safety, Online Gender Based Violance, Device Hygiene, Secure Communication and Veracrypt.

I also learned about Phishing and how to identify Fake emails or calls or text. Before Safe Sister Training my skills in Digital Security Training was beginner after training my skills now is in expert level.

SAFE SISTER PROGRAM UNLOCK MY POTENTIAL AS A DIGITAL SECURITY TRAINER

Safe Sister program unlock my potential in digital security and secure communication. After training I received grant from Internews and Defend Defenders to implement my project in my community with our organization. Then I continue to receive grants from different organizations for trainings in Tanzania especially in training womens.

Moreover I get connections from other fellows and we still connected and support each other. Also am working with different organizations due to my experience from Safe Sister Training. I worked with Internews Tanzania, Localization Lab, sci project and Google.

Through my experience as a Safe Sister Fellow I got invitations to participate into different international events and work with different people. Therefore Safe Sister Program exposed me the world.

I would like to appreciate Internews US and Defend Defenders Uganda for this amaizing program which changed my life.