The Volkswagen Polo TSI 1.0: A review by a long- distance driving working mom!

Zanele Dlamini
3 min readSep 14, 2018

--

As an avid fan of the Polo TSI, I was not really that excited when the sixth generation Polo TSI was released this year. I only based my impression on rumors of how great the car was. The orange metallic color also didn’t help create an instant connection.

I loved the old version of the Polo TSI which was a very fast car and was deeply disappointed at the launch of the new Polo Vivo which came out looking like the Polo TSI.

Fast forward to August 2018 when I finally got the chance to drive the new Polo TSI. I have to say that nothing had prepared me for such a great car. I was literally blown away!

I fell in love instantly with the white version of the car, the seats, the steering wheel, the boot space and the body. I had to look at every detail just to drink in the perfection of the TSI. I could not get enough pictures onto Facebook!

The car is so comfortable making it essential for a long distance driver. It comes with an improved cockpit that is fun for playing music as I drove those long distances off to work and I could tell straight away that my days of back pain at the end of the day were a thing of the past.

The Polo TSI drives like a dream. It feels as if I am just gliding on the road. My legs were comfortable even when I drove wearing heels. My driving confidence was at an all time high because it really did go from 0 to the speed I wanted in a blink of an eye.

There is something to be said about the reaction of other drivers when they see the Polo in the rear view mirror…Pure appreciation! Drivers were allowing me to pass and because I was glowing with happiness every time I was overtaking, a permanent smile was plastered to my face!

With it’s masculine features, it still seems like the best car for a lady to drive because of the need for every safety feature possible. I go to great lengths to avoid the so-called “feminine cars”. Confusing the car hijackers who target women.

As the South African economy slides into a recession, a 1.0 liter turbo charged engine with a fuel consumption of 4.5 liters/100km is just the accessory ladies need as they continue to climb up the corporate ladder.

My excitement at this car was so heartfelt that I kept convincing other ladies to test it out and made some new friends. It is a car that inspires a person to redesign their house to ensure that the garage is set near the lounge with only a glass wall separating the two so that every day is car appreciation day. Add a personalized number plate as a bonus!

On that note, I would recommend the sixth generation Polo TSI 1.0 not only to ladies but to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, bigger, beautiful, fuel efficient and affordable car.

Volkswagen. Brand loyalty!

--

--

Zanele Dlamini

Social Scientist, Passionate about public health solutions (HIV and Autism), Mom, Daughter, Sister, Aunt and a Level 6 Google Maps local guide