Project Hail Mary

Zaynah Ahmed
2 min readDec 7, 2023

--

Upcoming PHM Movie??

Project Hail Mary, by Andy Weir, is a book about a mission to save Earth. We’ve seen similar storylines many times before, but I thought this book was enjoyable nonetheless. I loved Project Hail Mary. It was very intricate but intriguing at the same time. I’m not much of a science nerd but reading this book got me more interested in space and physics. The great thing about Project Hail Mary is that it was emotional and humorous at the same time.

The Main Character

The mission to save Earth is an important and serious task but Andy Weir was able to balance out the story with the main character’s fun personality.

Furthermore, the dynamic between Ryland (the main character) and Rocky makes the story more humorous.

Science and Space

Reading about science and all the technicalities of space travel can be a lot but Andy Weir, and his team of editors, made it easy to understand. Like I had said earlier, I’m not really into science myself but the book really pulled me in, and learned a lot of interesting things about space and science.

A Good Balance

I enjoyed this book because I felt like there was a good balance between tension, humor, and emotion. While reading the book, sometimes I would feel like crying, or sometimes I would laugh, and sometimes I would be so drawn in by the intensity.

A Movie?

It was a surprise to me when I found out that the famous movie, The Martian, was originally a book that was also written by Andy Weir. I was even more surprised when I found out that Project Hail Mary is going to be turned into a movie. The film will be starring Ryan Gosling and the release date is said to be around 2025.

Try this Book!

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good plot with a lot of twists!

--

--