Getting Ready ~ Aug 21

After 4 years, I’m once again preparing to go to India, this time for 2 months…I felt very peaceful when my friend, Aparna, (who I first me here in 2009, when she was a Fulbright exchange math teacher at the high school I was teaching at) rang me up about 5 months back & suggested that I come over for 3 festivals: Ganesh, Dussara (festival celebrating good prevailing over evil) & Divali (festival of lights) and I said “yes!,” that sounds good…but now that I’m 1 week away from flying away, the picture below pretty much captures what I’m feeling right now…a mix of emotions, from excitement, concern (over leaving behind Bailey & if I’m going to get everything done in time beforehand?) to disbelief…going to India again seems so surreal/unpalpable to me…maybe this feeling increases as we age? Ahh…to balance keeping up with daily life (the eclipse today!) , seeing friends & romping w Bailey, my new little rescue, to planning a schedule over the phone with Aparna & preparing the house for a subletter…phew! But I do have a prevailing faith, that when I board the plane next week, I’ll be breathing a sign of relief, with a feeling of well-being that this was meant to be, & anticipation for a trip that will have an impact on me for the rest of my life…next blog over yonder…

lynda zimmerman
2 min readAug 21, 2017

--

--