The data we leave behind

Samuel Zeller
4 min readOct 27, 2016

I was walking down a street I’ve crossed a thousand times listening to my latest Spotify playlist whilst checking who had commented on my daily Instagram post.

I didn’t see the bus, those things are pretty big and loud usually.
It didn’t see me either, I heard my bones crack and then black…

Game over

We never really talk about it. Yet you see it everywhere in the news, through our little screens. It’s not a joyful subject of conversation I must admit.

Death surrounds us, yet we rarely experience it closely.

My friend at the cafe is probably wondering why I’m late. He tries to call me but notices that I have my phone turned off which is something odd as we’re in the middle of the day. He sent me a Facebook message and waited about 20 minutes before leaving, thinking that I may have forgotten our meeting.

My mom get the news first from the hospital, exactly half an hour after. I always have my ID on me and they got my mother number listed on their files.

It takes a day or two before some of my close friends notice I’m not answering calls and messages. A few of them will be given the information that I’m not here anymore.

Quickly the news spread through my Facebook friends, first by private messages…

--

--

Samuel Zeller

Swiss photographer based in Geneva. Fujifilm ambassador. Writing about photography, art and social media. Editor of photomachina.com