Kodakchrome slide by Nathan Anderson

Ten tips for photographers on Instagram

How small pictures make a big difference

Samuel Zeller
10 min readOct 24, 2016

--

Quite often other photographers tell me “I don’t have time for another social network and I don’t need Instagram”. Yet they spend hours posting on Facebook groups, 500px and Flickr where almost zero potential clients will see their work. They’re only garnering followers, likes and comments from other photographers.

Instagram can be useful in reaching a broader audience. It can benefit you in ways you may not have thought of before, and it shouldn’t take you too much time to build a presence on it. In this article, I’ll share some of my experience on this social network as a photographer (@zellersamuel 12k followers) and how it benefit my work.

1. It’s not your portfolio

Thinking of it as a way of showing your latest work, using it as a daily journal can be very helpful. I cannot count how many times I had to show someone a picture from a recent shoot that I hadn’t yet in my portfolio.

Not only can you post images you wouldn’t usually put in your portfolio but you’re also free in term of content, no need to show series of work anymore.

It can even act as your business card, I sometimes had to give my Instagram username because I run out of cards. The other person…

--

--

Samuel Zeller

Swiss photographer based in Geneva. Fujifilm ambassador. Writing about photography, art and social media. Editor of photomachina.com